Lil Whale-Eye, My Resident Hummingbird (Part III: Even Hummingbirds Need to Blink)

One day, a few weeks ago, I was able to photograph my resident alpha male hummingbird for several minutes straight—taking dozens of pictures of Lil Whale-Eye in repose. I ended up organizing the better pictures into visually-informed categories. Since then I’ve been posting the photos, 3-5 at a time, in theme-related posts.

After introducing the series here, I provided a photographic explanation for my hummingbird’s name here.

The third installment in the series, today’s post is a collection of all of the pictures I accidentally took of him while he was blinking. There are three full blinks and one half-blink. As always, he is perched on the top segment of my tomato cage located directly below his favorite feeder. The first picture is particularly clear, not only are individual features visible but if you look closely you can actually see Lil Whale-Eye’s lushes lashes.

All content is original and my own. I take all my pictures with my snazzy Cannon PowerShot SX410 IS.

Enjoy!


(I love how Lil Whale-Eye leans to the side here. He tends to sway when he sits there for long. It’s adorable.)


(The pattern of his feathers around his chin and neck are flawless in this shot.)


(The side-way sway combined with his droopy eye lids makes him appear on the brink of tipping over in the sweet grips of a summer-time slumber.)

Sort: