Mountain Freshness

in #photography6 years ago

We all need a balanced diet and vegetables are very important. Take a break from meat and have some veggie goodness. This is a place where the vegetables are cheaper compared to the city. Not only that they are fresh as they come daily. Today let me just share with you some photos from the vegetable section of the market.

Read more about this market in Baguio, Philippines Market Infatuation


Mountain Freshness

1.jpg

leaf 2.png

Usually my wife does all the shopping especially for our meals. If you would send me out to do the shopping I'll be buying anything that looks good. Which I would probably end up overspending the budget for the week. It is best just to have my wife do the shopping and I would just tag along. Choosing which stall to buy from and haggling for the price are things I have no idea about. My wife is very capable when it comes to the market.

It is even surprising the she knows which stalls cheats on their good that are sold. One example is a shrimp stall which sells shrimps that looks fresh but in reality they mix non fresh shrimps with the lot. She tells me, "Don't buy there, check this, buy from here." Thru years of experience buying from our local market she got it figured out.

3.JPG

Well that market is from our local area and we can't help there are some dishonest vendors. But enough of that this is a different market and this place is popular due to the fresh vegetables and low price.

4.JPG

Who loves broccoli? We do just blanch them in water and it should be good. Although the kids are not a fan they need to eat veggies every other day for a balanced diet.

The price here is around 35 pesos per half kilo or $.66 which is a very cheap price. What prices do you have for broccoli?

5.JPG

This is just one stall and there are so many options to choose from for all your vegetable needs.

6.JPG

One kilo of mushrooms cost around $2.25

Green and Red bell peppers are sold per pack for $.50

One kilo of carrots the sell it at $.75

Potatoes, baby carrots, cabbage, beans and lettuce are just some of the local produce.

7.JPG

8.JPG

Cucumber has many benefits helps to keep the eyes healthy, good for the skin, detoxification and also said to help fight cancer.

I always wondered why they use slices cucumber on the eyes before going to bed. It seems it helps reduce the eyebags or round circles below you eyes when you didn't get enough sleep.

9.JPG

Sweet beets is something we do not have at our local market back home. I asked the vendor how to eat it and she told me it is best to make a juice out of it. That sounds very interesting and we bought a pack for around $.38 which I think is a bargain.

Alright then I guess that is it for now and please let me know what do you think about the prices here.

Have a good evening or morning Steemians!

10.JPG

leaf 2.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

A lot of vegetables. And they look pretty fresh.

Yes they are really fresh most tourist specifically comes here for the veggies. 😊

gusto ko yan healthy living.. tsaka happy fathers day po GOD BLESS..

Hey bro thank you very much. My daughter bought me ice cream today lol.

Missing my undergrad life and the strawberry season. I also love the tantamcos ube, they have a stall there. If you go deeper into the market, you would see the cheap ones. Don't buy from the front stalls, they tend to sell overpriced goods.

Hey there thanks for visiting.I loved the market although have not explored deeper due to time constraint. Maybe next year if things go well will visit again. 😊

I just got into photography and i happen to stumble upon your post. Made me miss eating them. Hope you'll be able to go there again :D

Which I would probably end up overspending the budget for the week.

EXACTLY what my hubby would say and do- lol

Haha there are so many stuff to buy good thing my wife was with me. She pushed to buy only the food that we needed.

I calculated against the prices at my market and yes relatively cheaper for sure
Thanks for sharing @watersnake

Hey glad you were able to drop by. A lot of people bought in bulks which even pushed the price lower.

I love going to this kind of market, everything are fresh!

Make your salad fresh and healthier. I just wish this place is not so far away.

So true, they are also so far away that we ended up buying in hypermarket instead.

I love a market like this!! Where is "back home" for you, where there are no beets? I love to peel and cut fresh beets in chunks, lightly oil, salt and pepper and roast them in the oven until they're soft. So delicious :)

Thanks for sharing; these photos are awesome !

Back home is like 6-8 hours away from this city. Our city is surrounded by water and known for sea mussels. We made the beets into a juice didn't know you could roast them. Something that we must try but the problem is 6 hrs away lol.

haha they do last for a long time. Just like a potato actually. And I absolutely love sea mussels :)

Fresh vegetables and farmers' markets are my best!

They are and you just gave me an idea. I just recalled seeing a stall at our local market with organic veggies may pay them a visit one of these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80