Whatever it takes to get the "Shot"! - With Examples

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!


I always love seeing what effort all levels of photographers go to to get the shot so I thought I would share some of mine and Chris's (@skiesandsports) favourites!


We have always done whatever it takes to get the best shots for our clients and nothing will stop us from trecking up hills, lying down in puddles or wadding up to our knees in cave water to get the best shot for them! We don't always rememeber to get shots of each other in these silly positions or locations but here are some that we did get!!


#1 Cave Water


So this is one of my favourite locations in the World - The Lake District. When we were on a shoot here with a lovely couple we came across this amazing cave and we knew we needed to go in to explore more! Neither of us were dressed for cave dipping but I knew this shot was going to look awesome on my wide angle so without thinking twice I was like "I'm going in!" I took my shoes off and wadded into the water, which actually had little fish in it too! I framed the couple in the amazing opening of the cave and this shot is one that couples actually request from us... so its not the last time I was in this cave, and I will probably will be in it again, I will probably wear waders next time though! It was totally worth the end result and driving home in wet trousers!


untitled-26.jpg

untitled-3.jpg


#2 London Bridge


London pavements are probably the last place you want to lie down on but this evening that we went on this shoot with a couple it was crazy busy, it was the night of some riots too so there were a lot of people around. We didn't want to disappoint the couple so the only option that came to me as we stood in front of the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben was to lie down on the floor, shoot up at the couple and frame them in the skyline. Cars were rushing by me, people were walking around and over me and looking at me very very oddly, of course! I blocked them out and knew that I was doing whatever I could for this lovely couple. The sky was amazing and this shot was one I was so proud of, I washed my hair as soon as we got home though!!

untitled-1.jpg

untitled-4.jpg


#3 Beach Time


We don't often get to shoot at beaches as we live as far away from the sea as you can get in the UK, so we were both really excited for this shoot on a beautiful beach! I wasn't however looking forward to the sand getting anywhere near my camera!! With that in mind I was trying all I could to avoid getting on the floor but I knew that this shot was going to work best if I laid down on the sand! Luckily my camera didn't have to go close to the sand so I was ok! I loved the contrast of the sea and sky and loved the silhouettes I got from this angle.

untitled-32.jpg

untitled-5.jpg


#4 Lakes Hill


Here Chris was trying to get the best angle with this couple and get some more texture into the shot rather than just sky. He saw these amazing reeds in front of them that were moving lightly in the wind so he laid down on the floor to get this shot. We work so differently and see things completely differently that at this time I had no idea what this shot was going to turn out like but I loved it! The colours from the reeds and the grey sky look so atmospheric, definitely worth lying on the ground for!

untitled-16.jpg

untitled-1.jpg


#5 Tunnel Vision


This location was at an amazing sculpture park, the light was really harsh so I was trying to find lots of little spots with more sheltered and interesting lighting. This wasn't actually park of any installation but rather just a corridor to the sculpture. I loved the lights along the walls and the straight lines and shapes were creating lovely shadows. I loved this location and knew that it was a great choice that day! Chris got a shot of me and the couple either side of this cool tunnel!

untitled-30.jpg

untitled-8.jpg


#6 Daffodils


On this shoot Chris really wanted to make the most of the seasons with the amazing daffodils, the problem was that they weren't in a great location and the backdrop was loads of scaffolding from all the building work that was going on, so again the only option was to think of another angle! Chris suggested to the couple to lie down in the daffodils and they were more than happy to go along with his idea, he then laid down right in front of them with his free lens and starting capturing some amazing moments. They were really intimate shots surrounded by these pretty flowers and I just loved this shot so much!

untitled-31.jpg

untitled-9.jpg


#7 Up High


Back to the Lakes for this shot and we had just hiked up quite a big hill on a not so nice day! The skies were really ominous and I knew here that I wanted to make the most of that so I went to the opposite hill and walked up to the top to get a better view point of the couple! I loved the clouds and the wild look to this shot and it was definitely worth the climb up!

untitled-15.jpg

untitled-11.jpg


#8 Climbing Trees


A lot of you will know if you follow my husband (@skiesandsports) he is a ninja! Well he has been on Ninja Warrior a few times and got to the final so I feel like that classes him as a ninja! Anyway he loves making the most of his athleticism and climbing whatever he can to get a good angle! Here we were shooting in golden hour which was amazing and the light coming over the valley was so beautiful but it was a little low so to get the most of the light Chris climbed this huge tree to look down on the couple and get more of the sun in the shot - it looked amazing and was well worth the effort!

untitled-19.jpg

untitled-6.jpg


*Disclaimer


A LOT of suits and clothes were ruined in the making of these shots!!

untitled-34.jpg

untitled-9.jpg

untitled-27.jpg

untitled-25.jpg


Thank you for stopping by! - Verity x

Untitled-1.jpg


2.jpg

Sort:  

Yes, this is what needs to be done to go from an average to a great photographer! I love the dedication and passion you guys put into your work, and I'm sure your clients are always happy too. It's awesome that you shoot together so you can get the behind the scenes shots of each other, thank you for sharing those with us! :)

Thank you Eve! Glad you enjoyed them!! Its more often that Chris gets in these silly positions and I just have to get a shot of him haha! We really have a passion for what we do so we love going the extra mile!

Great to see both shots!

Upvoted (by @rycharde), resteemed (by @accelerator) and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

Thank you so much, glad you liked the post!

Such a great illustration of the things we must endure to get 'that' shot. I am loving your dedication to the craft and it clearly shows in the results of your work. I adore that first cave photo. Just stunning. I am totally following you now!

Thank you!! I loved that cave shot too, it was so worth getting wet for! I appreciate you stopping by and commenting, thanks! I shall go check out your blog too :)

I love your commitment to getting the perfect shot! Very athletic and creative. Beautiful pictures!

Thank you, so nice of you to comment!

Hi vtravels,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you!!

Haha these are some amazing "behind the scene" shots! Great work 👍

Wow wow
This is really lovely

Things photographer go through just to get a perfect and awesome shot

The images captured to me cannot even be compared with those of you trying to capture those images because they speak more volume. Perhaps the collection should be titled the "perfect shots"

Welldone
Keep steeming @tormiwah

Thank you! We love trying to think of new ways and new angles to get the shot, so I am glad you enjoyed the post!

That's a very Perfect Image... @vtravels
Which Camera used?
Also check my post @crypto.update

Cool theme for a post. I laugh sometimes because it seems I'm often pulling weeds and shoving tree limbs out of the way to get my shot. I often say I take on a second job as a landscaper anytime I start taking pix outdoors.

That said, my models often suffer a lot more discomfort than I do. But I don't ask them to do anything that I wouldn't be willing to do myself.

Awww haha ! Yeah we have been known to do some weeding in order to get the shot too !! We must be very dedicated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56