unwttng's daily photo #4 - Streets of Kyoto (originally 'you old dog, you')

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

As well as being, and writing about being, a software engineer, I'm an avid amateur photographer. One issue I have with steemit at the moment is that it seems vastly in favour of written content (especially about the crypto-ecosystem) and seems a little dismissive of images. In my opinion, quality image content in the form of user photography, CGI and traditional art is just as valid. With that in mind I'll be putting a new photo here every day. I'll include a little bit of personal context around each one in case you're interested! (I'll also include this paragraph in them all for the time being).

Linked list: previous:#3 next:#5

Verification via my 500px profile.


Today's photo (today being Friday the 23nd September 2016, 2016-09-23) is a memory from this June (the 11th, to be precise) in Kyoto, Japan. My wife and I were traveling in Asia for around eight months and Japan was our last, long stop. We lived in an apartment (a "monthly mansion" if we're being technical and Japanese about it) in the city for around a month and a half, and it was every bit as beautiful and lovely and cultured and serene a place as I remembered it being from our brief holiday there a few years previously.

This is a group of maiko walking around near the city's Gion region, which is famed for its maiko and geisha. They get hassled a lot by people wanting photos with them as they go about their packed daily work, but a cheeky compliment and request for an on-the-go candid shot never seem to go amiss :) This photo contains two or three of my all-time favourite portrait expressions I've captured, I think.
View the full-size photo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42