XC Skiing in the Canadian Rockies - Last of 2016! 📷

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Well, it's been cool to find Steemit here in 2016, and get back at some blogging with benefits. Some rewards have been good, I've cashed some out to the exchange to trade some steem and bitcoin and the rest is now in steem power, making steemit here even better.

Most of my posts have been on my weekly trips to the mountains, so today is no exception, I was able to get out for some cross country skiing today with a friend and it was cold, but beautiful skies and a great day in the wilderness for some fresh air and exercise. Did about 14km skiing, so an pretty short day for me, but it was the first of the season, so reasonable.

Note: As usual, click the image for larger views

Well, the Sun peaks at a pretty low altitude here in the winter's shortest days so long shadows even at around 11am.
ImageText

Some off trail exploring, I found this cool stump, which I thought made a couple decent photos with the sun rays behind it.
ImageText

ImageText

When there is nice powder in the trees, I just have to get off trail, and go blasting through some powder, which create these cool shots with the sun making the snow glisten from behind.

ImageText

ImageText

ImageText

A view out to Moose mountain, a very popular peak nearby, I've hiked and mountain unicycled MANY times.
ImageText

A close up, you can see the tower at the fire station lookup just at the summit, which is actually jest left of the high point in the photo.
ImageText

And finally, a nice wide panorama of the area called, "Moose Loop", for obvious reasons if you inspect all the tracks down through the meadows. Most of them are moose tracks.
ImageText

Recent Photo Sets

I hope you enjoyed these photographs. If you are new, please follow and check out some of my other recent photography sets:

Sort:  

Wonderful pictures! I especially like snow on the mountains! Very nice trip!

Thanks tangmo, ya I prefer the summer greens in the mountains as I can go more places safely, but the pristine white fields and slopes are pretty awesome as well!

great pics! wow... what. . a .. view!

Thanks! Yup, always nice when the blue backgrounds and sun glistening snow can be captured!

The pics are good! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53