My Local Wildlife Photos (Moose and Great Horned Owl) 📷

in #photography8 years ago

I live in a rural area and so have the opportunity to see a lot more wildlife than city dwellers.

Moose Family

There are actually a family of 5 moose that often stroll past. I havn't seen them close enough lately to get good pics in the snow, but here are a few from the fall, when I last saw them close enough for pictures. They seem to always walk through our neighbors fields, close enough to never get great photos but far enough, to keep the horses from having a fit, as horses are really scared of moose. These shots were pretty good, and before the leaves left and snow came in.

This shot I didn't have a zoom lens at all, as this cow moose was eating the bushes a couple hundred feet away when I was out cross country skiing at a trail called, Moose Loop, who would have thunk!! haha

Great Horned Owl

The last couple days, I was able to capture a few shots of a local Great Horned Owl that hunts from our trees as well. They spook very easily so took off as soon as I moved in closer.

Note: Click to view larger shots of these.

ImageText

ImageText

Sort:  

Thanks ocrdu, nice avatar! Very suiting for my pics I guess. :)

It is 8-)
"The Owl" is actually my family name, but in old-spelling Dutch.

That is a beautiful owl

Thanks throattothestars, I thought so too. I'm seem him many times, but usually just doing flybys or way higher in the trees so never got a decent picture before.

That's a good catch then!