Door Jam Mountain Hiking - part 1📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I was fortunate to make my second trip up Doorjam mountain a couple weekends ago. Its a fantastic ridge hike, some great slab scrambling and some awesome exposure over the ridge, which actually has some nice climbing areas below I have also done rock climbing at before.

ImageText

The picture above shows some of the huge gravel washouts that were from the major flooding here in 2013. They have left some big scars all over, that gravel wash turned the small creek flow into a 40-50m wide rock washout now. Aside from these areas being forever changed, the ridge here has been untouched and is an amazing hike.
ImageText

The hike has a pretty major and continuous upward grade. You can see the ridge line going up to the doorjam mountain summit, which has massive slabs at the top to scramble that can be a bit tricky to properly route find a good way up them.
ImageText

The views looking back down along the ridge line that we hiked up are an awesome site. The snow peak mountains across the valley are perfect. The steepness here is hard to capture with a camera, but it gives you a good workout, that is for sure!
ImageText

This show shows a bit better, just how steep most of this hike is. A lof the exposure and scrambling get really interesting from this point upward. So much fun!
ImageText

Almost near the top of the first mountain, called door jam. This show still looking back, you can see the cliff sides of the ridge we've come up in the bottom left.
ImageText

And finally, the summit of door jam is just off screen on the left, but this shows our next destination in the middle of the picture, the next major peak, called Loader. I'll post some pics of that next segment.
ImageText

No big surprise, the leeward side of the final summit approach is still covered in show drifts. Its all wind scoured though so easy to walk on still to the summit.
ImageText

Some great views up here!
ImageText

I hope you enjoyed this photo series, I'll get the next one posted with the photos that continue on to the next summit, Loader and an awesome but risky alternate exit route we took, which turned out to be QUITE an adventure. Until then....

Sort:  

Spectacular views once again @unipsycho!

Thanks shieha, I'm glad to finally get some time to post some things, playing a bit of catchup, as I've been out to the mountains a LOT lately and not got it all posted.

Awesome post, reminds me of my time in Canada. I had lots of fun going on hikes and white water rafting, this reminds me of the scenery we would see on these trips. 😁

But it also reminds me why I moved waaaaay down south to Miami for some tropical heat 😎

haha, totally get ya on that. The heat is definitely not in abundance here. The scenery is though if you can handle the cold winters.

Nice shots! Looks cold, though.

Looks cold with the snow, but it was about 15°C, (60°F) so not bad for an early season hike. Very windy up top on the next summit though, but beautiful temps down in the trees and lower elevations.

nice place and beautiful photos. :)

thanks happyphoenix, glad you liked them!

wow ! really cool , I follow u. if u like mountains you may like my blog :)

Thanks fmd for the comment and resteem! I'm following you now also, thanks!

I have a strategy and a question I want to bounce off you. First, I was thinking that on autosteem I should just copy your votes only, nothing else but I also thought I should synchronize my voting power level to yours to match your voting cycle? Lastly, as a new author on steemit you above most would know what type of posts are generating the most amount of interest and votes. Can you share some of your insights?

Thanks dankh, and you are welcome to follow me for sure with autosteem. I do manual voting often in the photography section of steemit for posts I like and let Autosteem use up any extra voting power for me when I don't have time to get on steemit (more often lately it seems). THere's no simple answer to what posts do the best, so no one person can answer that for you. Understanding the payout rules and picking great content and most importantly, ENGAGING in the community of steemit is what is best for your own growth. As followers will care the most about your stuff if you actual interact, which autosteem can't do for you, but it can help you find the stuff you like best.

I hope that helps and thanks for using autosteem, I do love getting continuous curation rewards even when I'm not on steemit!

thanks for the reply. FYI I will be holding a workshop in my office soon with a group to have them open on steemit and on autosteem once I have a better feel for both. Hope it makes a difference for you!

Thanks man, that's cool. Autosteem helps others earn and find content a lot more than it makes me by others using it. It only votes my recent content and most people's votes who use autosteem I don't think are worth that much yet to make a big difference. However, its always great to know more people can use the tool.

Have you thought about putting in an auto-resteem feature?

I have and had that suggestion before, but honestly, I think its a big dangerous, I want to see people know about content before they auto-resteem it. Its one of the issues with bots you know, if they overpost or vote, then people devalue them, so I dont' want people thinking of that with autosteem.

Just thinking about it again, you might also inadvertently resteem extremely NSFW posts

Right now my voting power is at 80% and I notice my upvotes seem to have greater effect. Should I wait a day and let my voting power climb over 90% before I turn the autosteem on again?

dankh, that is up to you. its doesn't much matter if you drop your voting power 80 or 90, or even 50. It depends how often you intend to use steemit and if you want to keep manual control of your voting power or let autosteem run it. I let mine use anything above 80% and my manual voting for example often drives me down to 60-70% if I vote a bunch when on steemit. To each the own however.

Nice pictures, following you now :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $34.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56465.77
ETH 2331.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36