How to spread conservation messages with 500 SPsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

When @suesa posted a challenge for the Steemit community to bring forth their best ideas on what they'd do with 500 SP, I couldn't help but join in.

I'm still new to the steemit network, but I've posted an introduceyourself post on how I dance underwater to raise awareness about ocean conservation.

.

My name is Christine Ren and I've created a series that combines movement artistry and underwater photography because 95% of underwater images published online consist of marine life and reef system shots.

In order to bring mass attention to our ocean ecosystems that we are rapidly losing in this lifetime, conceptual underwater images crafting emotionally-evocative narratives that people can truly see themselves in, connect to and desire to share widely will be necessary.

CR_smoke_base_170515 CR 11th Hour  292 Flat 1.jpg
(Shot by: Jose G. Jano as part of a climate activism campaign called "The 11th Hour.")

Conveying ocean conservation as a human issue requires the creation of the right imagery, but it’s only one component of raising awareness. Leveraging social media tools and viral marketing techniques along with that imagery is the second. I endeavor to combine the power of both the aforementioned aspects to empower ocean leadership.

To-date, my underwater performance work has been featured by FStoppers, Nat Geo, KQED, FStoppers, Petapixel, Phoblographer, and more, with thousands of views and shares across the other social platform titans.

But in truth, little of that matters to me. What matters is the individuals that respond about how they've been inspired to change their behaviors and the artists that have come together to collectively create some amazing artwork with a message of hope.

brettstanleyphotodotcom-160603-_MG_8563-Edit.jpg
(Shot by: Brett Stanley as part of a campaign against plastic pollution called, "Blind Spots.")

What I'd do with 500 SP:

If granted 500 SP, I'd use it to release my previous and upcoming conservation-themed imagery campaigns on Steemit to raise awareness about the dire issues facing our planet, such as ocean overfishing, plastic pollution, ghost fishing, climate change, and more.

I would use the added SP not only to help spread messages of hope with what I create but also to curate a weekly underwater photography round-up challenge, reaching out to my existing contacts in this niche to sign-up on the platform and participate for rewards.

While the impact of what I have created to-date is far-reaching, it could be magnified much further. But I certainly can't do this alone!

Added SP as a new comer to the platform will help me in trying to transfer my existing social followings over to Stememit, as well as help me fulfill my wish to grant a future generation clean wild seas.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Its sooo awesome how you communicate throught your movements, how your "dance" and body expression is able to give sense emotions and messages you want send.
I hope steemit can help in the purpose of spreading conservation messages.
You post anything you think can help and cheeerrssss

Thank you @sanchez.gomez70 for all the comments and support! I'm doing the something I can with the eclectic, seemingly disparate skills, I possess - hoping it all makes some difference. Cheers and fingers crossed I get that 500 SP! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @underwaterwoman to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55