I dance underwater to raise awareness about ocean conservationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Christine Ren and I've created a series that combines movement artistry and underwater photography.

My mission: to catapult the environmental movement to the forefront of both the public and political arenas.

After pirouetting my way from dance and ocean science careers into photography and film, I now spread environmental messages through underwater activism.

Here's an example:

.

And another one:

brettstanleyphotodotcom-160603-_MG_8563-Edit.jpg
(Shot by: Brett Stanley as part of a campaign against plastic pollution called, "Blind Spots.")

WHO I AM

ChristineRen2_CONCEPTUAL.jpg
(Shot by: Jose G. Jano as part of a series about ghost fishing entitled "Silent Killers.")

I tend to hold definitions of myself rather loosely, as I've found much of life's joys lie in discovering yourself and those around you anew each day. As a means of introduction, however, I'd say I'm an underwater activist spreading messages of ocean conservation through photography and film.

I often say instead that I'm the infinite photographs, both captured and yet to be. Or on days I'm feeling mystical, that I'm an awe-filled living pulse in an ecosystem of infinites. Both drop and ocean.

WHAT I DO

CR_smoke_base_170515 CR 11th Hour  292 Flat 1.jpg
(Shot by: Jose G. Jano as part of a climate activism campaign called "The 11th Hour.")

My work embodies the idea that ocean conservation is a human issue. Using my body as my canvas, I conceptualize, direct and perform in underwater imagery campaigns that foster new conservation ethics.

Here's a sampling of the underwater madness I've cooked up so far:

To-date, my underwater performance work has been featured by FStoppers, Nat Geo, KQED, FStoppers, Petapixel, Phoblographer, and more. I love collaborating with artists from all over the world who come together to leverage their skills towards making the world a better place.

I also have a deep love of post-production Photoshop tinkering, and create imagery composites like this:

3_ripple_base_smoke-Wide-red-170515 CR 11th Hour  326 Copo 2.jpg

And if that didn't keep me busy enough, I write short narratives and poetry, some of which are quite popular on MEDIUM. I'm excited to now share my literary work through Steemit as well!

Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 11.08.07 AM.png
(Read the full poem, "The Up and Down Day," being transformed into a children's book.)

WHY I'M HERE

I came to Steemit because it's time to usher in an era of creativity as currency. I don't believe in the starving artist model. I never have and never will.

Each morning, as I climb out of bed for my customary cup of jasmine green tea, my head bursts with a force of stories and dreams that I cannot contain and scramble to capture. I believe this creative stream holds intrinsic value; it contains our unique offerings we can gift to the world. This is why I love the idea of Steemit rewarding content creators and empowering artists.

I'll be bringing my writing obsession to the Steemit community, along with my upcoming photo composites and underwater work.

Please drop a COMMENT and give me a FOLLOW!

Happy creative trails everyone :)

image-c.jpg

Sort:  

I love everything about this post! What a great way to bring awareness to conservation efforts. Looking forward to seeing your children's book and more of your poetry!
You have been featured by @msp-curation on Curation for Creatives.
Feel free to come join us on The Minnow Support discord server for more opportunities to grow on steemit!

Well met! And thank you so much for the feature :) I've given @msp-curation a follow now so I can stay up to-date.

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Great idea to raise awareness. These are some of the most beautiful photos I have seen in a long time. I'm following to keep up with what you have going on.

I appreciate your encouraging words @art-mess. Thank you :) I'll be following you as well now.

Love you for your work. Great job keep doing it.

Thanks! Stoked to be here :)

Amazing work!! Such a beautiful way to combat environmental issues. looking forward to seeing your posts!

I believe this creative stream holds intrinsic value; it contains our unique offerings we can gift to the world. This is why I love the idea of Steemit rewarding content creators and empowering artists.

Exactly! I often talk about this with other artists as well. Creative work is underestimated way too often.

Thank you @woodzi! I look forward to seeing your stuff too and yes, Steemit is one of the first platforms to truly usher us closer to an age where the starving artist model is obselete (or so I hope!)

This is so great Christine! I think you did a great job on the introduction! Personally, because this site is more community focused I would have put all the accolades more towards the bottom and focused more on your personality and persona in the top but this is great!!

Love it <3 :)

Happy to see you here!

Thanks for the feedback Ben! I appreciate it, and totally see your point. I'm glad for your tip-off regarding Steemit and hope you can successfully migrate your fan base over here. Cheers!

Welcome to Steemit! First time hearing about you but I already love your stuff!

Thanks so much and well met! :) I'm excited to be here and watch this platform grow.

Hi Christine! What amazing work you are doing! I think it is pretty safe to say that this is unique on Steemit. Your creativity is very welcome here!

The Fresh Five is a new Steemian curation effort, geared toward rewarding new Steemians who deliver interesting, fun, thought provoking, or just plain silly introduction posts.

We invite you to come to our Engagement Post and join the comment thread where we hope to encourage engagement and interaction with your fellow Steemians.

Looking forward to seeing you dig in to Steem and join the community!

Thanks so much and I'm thrilled to be joining the Steemit community :) I'll check out the engagement post for sure and just gave you a follow now too.

Beautiful photography in your site , congratulations

Absolutely great and amazing work!!!
Using the art for claiming for a great purpose, a porpuse that should involve all of us.
Using the image, video, performance with a big work behind for throwing us images of the reality about what is happening underwear.
Please you post all your work, thoughts, writing
Persons like you give a great positive vision of the human being and its something that is really needed nowadays.

Thanks so much for the encouragement! I definitely will keep posting :) I'm excited to be here and share my love of art as well as the ocean.

Please do it.
I have been reading some texts in medium and i liked them.
Here those texts will be welcome for sure, so great finding good original texts.
And let me express how awesome is your work about the ocean.
I hope steemit can help in your purpose.

Welcome! Very cool images, happy to follow you! :)

Super appreciate the follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82