A Panasonic Digital Camera vs A Microsoft Smartphone

in #photography5 years ago

It's an undeniable fact that Smartphones have come a long way and their cameras are better than ever but it's still not the same as using a real Camera. At least not for me.

Here's a photo of the Church of Riba de Âncora, taken with a Digital Camera, the Panasonic Lumix DC-TZ90:

wzagwtvcjr.jpg

Now, let's take a look at a photo taken by a Smartphone with a very good camera, the Microsoft Lumia 950 XL:

cqlc1vip3w.jpg

As you can see there are obvious differences, specially on the colours, brightness and contrast. It's also possible to see that the Smartphone has a narrower view. The Digital Camera was able to capture the whole Church and then some. The Smartphone was not even able to capture the entire Church, as the bottom part had to be left out of the frame.

The two above photos were taken from almost the same angle and position. (I had to retreat a bit and move to the left - to be able to capture the whole church with my phone.) In both devices the configurations were set to "Automatic". None of the photos was edited.


Here's a final bonus shot of the figure standing at the top of the Church.

94ryhwy7tp.jpg

This last shot was edited to make the features of the statue more visible.


It's not as practical to carry a camera around all the time... and on some situations, the Smartphone has to do it but whenever possible, I try to take photos with my Panasonic Camera, as the results are much, much better.


What about you, have you invested in a real Camera - Digital or Old Style - or is the Smartphone good enough for you?


CamerasPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
Microsoft Lumia 950 XL
LocationRiba de Âncora, Caminha - #Portugal
Photos2 Untouched
1 Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That is indeed a very big difference - now I am sure gonna use my digital camera more - tx for pointing this out :)

Thanks. I think phones are good if you want to take a quick photo and don't have time to take the camera out. Sometimes we have to be fast but when we have the time, it doesn't make much sense to use a phone. 😃

Your photography is wonderful thanks for sharing

Thanks for stopping by!

I like both photos though 😉 off course a real camera will be better than the smartphone. I think you need to check on the best smartphone with camera 😉 dunno.. sony or samsung I think. But now Oppo and Xiaomi and many high-end smartphone has it.

Thanks. Yeah. We're still a long way before they can make the camera technology any thinner than this. 😂

This post had received 23.03% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

I use both my Sony Smartphone and Sony camera. For some reasons the camera doesnt take good photos in the dark, so I use my phone. All depends on the light.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-panasonic-digital-camera-vs-a-microsoft-smartphone


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yeah. Smartphones to come with good cameraes. I allways bring it with me and do take photos with my phone. But when I compare those photos to the ones taken with my camera, I have come to the same conclusion as you :)

Yeah. On a small device it's not as easy to notice a difference but once you display them on a full screen, the difference is huge. 😁

Yes...so don't even look at them on a full screen...If I do that, I really don't want to use them afterwards....:)

I use both my Sony Smartphone and Sony camera. For some reasons the camera doesnt take good photos in the dark, so I use my phone. All depends on the light.

That's a good idea. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81