Photos from my trip up the West Coast of the South Island of New Zealand – Fantail

in #photography7 years ago

While we were taking a look at some coastal scenery on one of the many lookout stops along the West Coast, I spotted a fantail on our way back to the car.

fantail-1.jpg

These little guys don’t hang around long, so I snapped away as fast as I could. But my settings were all for the scenery shots I had just been taking, not for speedy little birds.

But there was no time to play with settings, or even remember that I needed to change the settings. So I blasted off about five high speed shots before it disappeared.

This one came out ok in the end. Not bad all things considered.


Check out my stories here on Steemit

Running Deer

Running Deer - part 1
Running Deer - How legends are born

Charlie Rabbit

Meet Charlie Rabbit
Charlie tides up
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse make music

Little Peppers Adventures

Runaway Rabbit and the hungry fox
Maybe and the land of purple rainbows – A Little Peppers adventure
How Pappa Pepper and Monster Truck the Pepper got their wild hogs - a Little Peppers Adeventure

Dark Angel Regiment of the Space Marines - Mission Files

First Squad Sniper Elite - Zaresith mission

Other stories

Stranded
The Lady Of The Lake


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

He he! Very cute bird! I think, New Zealand it's a beautiful place, but it's really far from Europe...

It is a beautiful place, and about as far from Europe as you can get! hehe

Or to put it another way - Europe is really beautiful, but so far away from New Zealand.

I was thinking the same :)) I still hope that at some point it will get closer, at least in my mind

Well, keep blogging on Steemit and earn the cash to come on over. Then blog about your trip and earn enough to go somewhere else (that is, if you decide you want to leave) :-)

Haha...I will!

Nice photo capture :) Looks like a really cute bird ;)

Thanks. They are very cute and so friendly. Some will even perch on your shoulder!

wow how cool is that :)

It's pretty cool when t happens. it doesn't happen a lot, so it is pretty special when it does.

Bravo, it is not easy to take bird pictures. Beautiful photo ;)

New Zealand is awesome! Fantails are interesting birds. They will follow you around because you are disturbing insects and it is an easier meal :)

Fantails are very cool They are super fast and agile fliers. They don't sit still for more than a nano-second - must be all that coffee they drink ;-)

I still haven't managed to photograph on in flight yet. I've got LOTS of pictures of branches where a fantail used to be though :-)

Ooo I love New Zealand. @mr-meteorologist and @trevor.george did you get to see the Kookoo bird? Not sure what kind of behavioral patterns they have, but they are so darn cute!

New Zealand is one of the places I want to visit at least once in my life, as it seems the nature (landscapes, animals, plants and trees) is amazingly beautiful over there! You're lucky to live there! I'll follow you for more :-)

There are some very lovely places here - like where I grew up. I didn't really appreciate it until a couple of years ago when I went back there and saw it with new eyes.

Nice article :)

Thanks :-)

Nice :) ... I've been seeing quite a few of these little guys around our house lately. I see in another comment you mentioned that they will sit on your shoulder sometimes ... man that is way cool ... I didn't realize they would do that ... They do 'buzz' my head sometimes hahah .. but that's about the closest they've gotten to me :)

They will probably come down from the hills as winter sets in.

It's not easy to get them to stop or sit on your shoulder, but the best strategy is to stir up the ground a bit to disturb a bunch of insects and the stand really still.

Oh, and have someone else ready with a camera, just in case!

That's a Steemit blog post that would earn a bunch of money!

Great and lucky catch Trevor, birds are so fast!

Thanks. Fantail are super fast. My goal is to one day catch on in flight, and in focus.

Up voted 100% - just because I CAN :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51