The Surreal World of IR Photography - Some Photo Experiments with My IR Converted Camera

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Introduction

I mentioned a while back how I was getting my Nikon D7100 converted with a partial colour infrared filter.

Well the combination of rain, my photography computer dying, Christmas and various other things have meant that I haven't had much of a chance to test it out.

Today I had a little time and a weather window that allowed me to do that.

There are only a few photos here that I have edited as it is a long drawn out process to make these look right:

  1. I have to open them and manually correct White Balance in the Nikon Raw Converter.
  2. Then I have to edit them in Photoshop to do a red/blue channel swap to make the sky blue.
  3. I can then import them into Lightroom as per my usual workflow for adjusting exposure, noise, cropping etc.
It may not sound like a lot but it does add up when you are doing multiple photos! Anyway I hope you like them:)
Feel free to use them in your own posts if you want as per Steemit4free.

A Few Photos of the Old Church

I have presented some regular B&W photos of this before. I have a lot more photos which I will try to edit when I have time. I like how these turned out though. The colours are so strange.

1


2


3


4


The moon was visible here although I didn't have a suitable zoom lens with me but it makes a nice test shot

5


This scene is a good illustration of how light and contrast is different with IR photos.

6


This is another church near me. The contrast means it is hard to preserve details in the shadows. There is an anchor with the cross.

7


8


9





Before you go have you filled in the Coinbase form to list STEEM? It only takes a few seconds. THIS POST shows you how.


If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog - @thecryptofiend


All photos are my own.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try:


HTML tutorial


Sort:  

These look so sweet and amazing. I love the surreal effect...and would love to know if this 'look' is done more in the post-production of the shot, or if you are getting this style right off the camera? Either way, I've been involved with digital photo manipulation for a long time and whether this is post or just camera....I'm really impressed.

I've recently just started to take photographs and I still consider myself an amateur...so I'm just asking out of curiosity. Although, I've added Magic Lantern firmware to my Canon camera and I'm really digging the results.

No it's not straight out of the camera - they have to be white balanced in software because the standard white balance on cameras is not designed for the type of image that infrared produces. Then after that the red and blue channels are flipped to give a blue sky.

If you want to see how they look straight out of the camera with regular white balance (and no channel swap) you can see a couple in this post (at the top):

https://steemit.com/photography/@thecryptofiend/more-surreal-ir-photography-experiments-from-newcastle-feel-free-to-use-them-in-your-posts

Very cool...and nice skills. I like the looks of both before and after your infrared shots. I guess I should do more experiments with channels. Thanks.

You're welcome thank you:)

This is IR? Are they artificially colored? Cool photos though man.

Yes it is IR with partial colour - a 590nm filter. So unlike those completely artificially coloured photos there is some actual colour in them but it is not exactly accurate because there is no way to convey IR red information without giving it false colour.

Further the blue and red channels are swapped to make the sky blue. You can keep them without swapping the channels too and it gives more of an orange tone to them - but either way it is technically mostly artificial colour.

Lifepixel is a great site which explains the different IR filter types and the artistic ways they can be used. The following page has a comparison of the colour options if you are interested:

https://www.lifepixel.com/infrared-filters-choices

At what time are these taken....i mean in daylight or moonlight i cant figure out...anyways cool pics nice and terrefic work @cryptofiend keep it up

Offtopic: can u rate my photography in the video posted in my blog i am dying to know how is my photography

That's the thing these were taken late afternoon but in bright sunlight! That is how IR can surprise you:)

Amazing images , Its like a movie , with a strange plot.
The effort shows and the light is stunning !
Love it!


Sorry to be spammy like this , but I'm just starting out , so I would greatly appreciate it if you could come over and check out my third post :) Maybe you could give me some input , https://steemit.com/story/@j3dy/having-fun-on-steemit-c30-d3-week-recap-work

Best of luck to you and I love seeing your comments and posts , I've seen you all over the place , last time it was at @krnel :D

It's amazing pictures!!
Your job is very good dear @thecryptofiend :))

Thank you. These are just a quick test. Hope to have better ones as I get more experience with IR.

It is ridiculous how talented you are at so many things.

You are too kind mate:)

Thank you for posting @thecryptofiend.

Lovely photographs....expressive...evocative...and tutorial.

Thank you for the reminder as well to vote for Steem at Coinbase.

All the best. Cheers.

Thank you for your kind words:)

@thecryptofiend I love what you did to the sky ^ ^
or is it better to say - to the pic
you always produce somethinig magical :)

Your photos share so much more than just a visual aid, they capture the emotion and nostalgia of having visited them myself! Thank you so much for sharing. It's the closest I've ever been to travelling abroad!
ONE LOVE

You're welcome. I'm pleased you enjoy them:)

I truely did!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64