Wednesday walk challenge for 9/11 and Steem Basic Income Give away

in #photography5 years ago

Wednesday walk challenge for 9/11 and Steem Basic Income Give away

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.

Actifit

A good App that works well in conjunction with the Wednesday Walk or any day walk is @actifit, which rewards you with Actifit Tokens and Steemit Upvotes, if you use the app to track your steps and do a post of your actifit total each day.

If you do a lot of activity I do recommend you check it out

The Kneeling Fireman

As this year 9/11 falls on a wednesday I am doing a different take on my Wednesday walk and sharing shots from a few walks, in Memory of all those who tragically lost their lives on 9/11/01, a date I think all of us remember so well if we were of an age when it happened, no matter where in the world we were on that day the news and TV images of this horrible attack live on in our memory, I remember being at work in Bosnia and being told to come to the conference room to see the TV broadcast, I did not know what was happening and when I saw the live footage I like everyone else watching was in total shock and speechless

For this post therefore I am sharingg a few shots of memorials around the city starting with the Kneeling fireman

1 The Kneeling Soldier.jpg

Sony A7iii 53mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 5000
*Click here to view larger



This very dramatic statue was originally, commissioned by the Firefighters Association of Missouri and cast in Parma, Italy, the statue landed at JFK on September 9th, bound for Missouri. Just as it was about to leave New York, the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center began, halting all air travel in the United States.

Rather than have the statue leave NYC after the attack it was presented to Federal Law Enforcement Foundation as a gift to all New Yorkers. With funding from the Milstein Family, it was mounted on a granite foundation and temporarily displayed in front of the family's Milford Plaza Hotel in the months after the attacks.
unfortunately, there was no way to permanently display the statue at the Milford Plaza hotel so the owners stored the statue for almost 10 years until a permanent location was found for it

1 The Kneeling Soldier4.jpg
Sony A7iii 28mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 4000
*Click here to view larger



In 2011 a permanent location was found and theis statue has stood there since at 6 East 43rd Street, between Fifth and Madison Avenues.
The statue is about 12 feet long and 5 weet wide and stands a little over 9 feet tall, and is so powerful and emotional to see.
1 The Kneeling Soldier3.jpg

Sony A7iii 26mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 3200
*Click here to view larger



I think it is such a powerful tribute to firefighters who put their lifes at risk to protect us and I am glad it was gifted to and staye din NYC.

Of the 2977 Victims of 911 412 were emergency workers who responded, (343 Firefighters, 60 Police Officers, 8 Emergency Medical technicians and one NY fire patrolman)

May they all rest in peace and never be forgotten.

Another more well-known memorial in NYC are the twin reflecting pools at the World Trade Centre, around the pools are etched the name of every person who died on 9/11 and the 1993 attacks on the World Trade Center, a sight that when I visit I find it very heart wrenching to see

1 The memorial pool.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 800
*Click here to view larger


And finishing off this post with this image of the Sphere, which is a cast Bronze sculpture, that was originally in the Plaza at the World Trade Center and survived the collapse of the World Trade Centre Towers and is now located in Liberty Park at the World Trade Centre area.

1 The Sphere originally located in the plaza at the world trade center_.jpg
Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/60 ISO 400
*Click here to view larger


The Sphere stands 25 feet tall and was made by German Artist Fritz Koenig

Steem Basic Income give away

I mentioned in the guidelines that from this week I will be sponsoring a few who join the #wednesdaywalk challenge with shares on Steem Basic Income

What is Steem Basic Income you may ask well here is how they explain it

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered by providing regular upvotes to member content. so I have decided to send some Steem Basic Income shares to 3 people selected through a random draw so on the weekend, to @ozkdawg, @starjewel, @constantshots, all people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk.

And a special bonus this week @elizacheng will send one SBI share to @rossfletcher,

I would love to be able to give everyone who joins a Steem Basic Income share, but I don't make enough steem each week to do so, but I will try and share them around fairly between those that join the challenge

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.

Wednesday walk footer.jpg


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.753798 lat -73.979741 long 43rd Street between Madison and 5th Ave NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Oh my gosh! Today is 9/11!!! So sad! When we were at the memorial it was raining, which seemed to me like the whole place was crying. I never felt so sad about what happened until I was physically there and that feeling is still with me. Altough I didn't see the kneeling fireman and the sphere before. Incredible that the sphere survived!!! Great shots!!! Truly heart touching 💚

Thanks and yes the Memorial pools are very touching even more so on a grey or wet day for sure, i always find it so poignant and emotional when I visit them

My pleasure and I can totally relate!

I think they did such an amazing job of the Pools, and although I havent been to it for a few years when they have the light towers up as they will tonight seeing that is so emotional to experience

Yes they did! But I never seen the light towers! That must be beautiful and yes, very emotional!

Ohh they are amazing to see for sure

Such a wonderful tribute for this sad day. The victims and their families, the first responders and volunteers have been in my thoughts and prayers all day. I will never forget that horrific day. The Kneeling Fireman and the story behind it brought tears to my eyes so I can only imagine how powerful it is when seen in person. I am glad to know that the statue has a permanent home in NY.
Here is my walk. https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@whatisnew/wednesday-walk-autumn-is-near

Thanks for your visit
I always found the kneeling fireman statue powerful but after reading it’s story it’s even more so now it’s like it was fate for it to be in NY that day kind of destiny if that makes sense

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk

I was thinking the same thing, that it must be fate.

Yes I think that is what it is

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-challenge-for-9-11-and-steem-basic-income-give-away


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks I do appreciate the support :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks always so kind of you and appreciated

Nice shots of the Kneeling fireman but it is really emotional matter of your country. Here is my entry : https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@kamrunnahar/wednesday-walk-to-go-to-the-nandan-park
IMG_20181225_130935.jpg

Yes indeed it is very emotional thanks for joking this week will go and visit your post shortly

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Buen dia,aqui mi visita,las imagenes tremendas obras de arte lo que hace ser un buen trabajo,felicitaciones,saludos y espero contar con su apoyo,hasta pronto@tattoodjay

Thanks Kindly and appreciated

I was in my car driving around all morning listening to CD's so I had no clue what was going on until I made it back to the office and everyone was talking about it. It was pretty crazy. Nice shots!

Thanks and yes I think just about everyone remembers what they were doing when it happened, and I just had a burst of clarity reading your comment,I was actually on a phone call with a colleague in NYC as it Happened and heard the sirens in the distance, and thats the first I heard of it happening, and then someone came in to tell me it was on TV

I was in total shock even half a world away

Yes, I kind of feel guilty that I didn't know anything about it. I think because of that, the "moment" didn't hold as much impact for me. Now that I am older, the "event" definitely does.

I dont think that is anything to feel guilty about, its natural since you didn’t hear about it as it was happening, seeing the footage on TV live is different from seeing it later,

Yeah, for sure. There is that country song about it called "where were you (when the world stopped turning)". I always think, my world didn't stop turning, I was driving around doing my job like it was any other day. Seriously all morning. It probably wasn't until afternoon that I knew what was going on. :P

I think that song is so apt for the day all around the World Unless you were working outdoors or with no connectivity such as you driving around everything stopped and the World did seem to stop turning nothing else was of any significance that day once you were aware of what happened

💚💚💚🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸

Posted using Partiko Android

A very very powerful and emotional tribute !!!!
@tattoodjay .
I can so clearly remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard the news on the radio 9/11 😥.
"May they all rest in peace and never be forgotten."

I think anyone of an age to remember can and will always remember so clearly what they were doing when they first heard about this
Yes indeed may they all Rest In Peace

I honestly didn't believe it when I first heard it come over the radio. I tuned into many other stations and they all were reporting. It took me a few minutes to come to reality and belief it was really true .

YEs it was the same for me I was overseas in Bosnia at the time and we were watching it on TV and most peoples first reaction is this cant be real, but sadly it was

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83