we don't know how lucky we aresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We Don’t know how lucky we are

Sometimes it very easy for us to forget how fortunate we are, these shots recently walking from Grand Central to my office along 42nd Street I saw these people sleeping on the street.

image

I know many about dubious about people asking for money on the street and feel it’s a bit of a scam, but for these three to be sleeping overnight on the sidewalks in NYC, to me they have issues of some sort and it is sad to see.

image

What ever their reason for sleeping on the street, one thing I am sure is it's not fun

image

But seeing them sleeping on the street does make me appreciate how easy I have life and reminds me to appreciate that

Now when I came up with the title for this post, this song came to me, its a bit of Kiwi ( AKA New Zealand) humour from decades ago, but to this day it still amuses me but that may be just my kiwi sense of humour

Stay Cool and Steem on

This photo taken by me using a Sony A6500 mirrorless camera

Sort:  

Nice post @tattoodjay
Yes we are really lucky, all this misery in our streets, and all these conflicts, people who suffer and who struggle every day for their lives, soon it will not be possible to live normally without worrying about it.
We have to make the big change!!!

Peace
@geemo-from-paris

and such a nice comment very much appreciated
I agree it is getting worse day by day, I have been fortunate to have traveled a lot over the years and seen the hardships some people have to endure after conflict and wars, which although so hard to see has I feel given me a good perspective on life and a wish to do what I can to help, but still to ths day I am shocked to see it in a big city in NY

Peace to you to

tip!

@tattoodjay
It's a pleasure my friend , i speak with my heart , i feel so sorry about all that misery ...
And yes It's shocking to see more and more people sinking and finishing in our street
In Paris it's the same ...
I saw the tip , it's a very nice intention , thank you very much my friend ;)
and if you want change your mood take a look to my latest post
"How i met Bobby brown and almost broke my leg" LOL
Unfortunately i post it to late ,last night, so not much people saw it
Check it out you gonna laugh ;)

https://steemit.com/blog/@geemo-from-paris/how-i-met-bobby-brown-in-the-90-s-and-almost-broke-my-leg-photo-of-the-meeting-and-the-entire-program-of-the-tour

Peace my friend , see ya soon ;)
@geemo-from-paris

I just finished read that post now and then saw this reply

Seeing these on the street here is no where near as bad as some sights I have seen in some countries but still upsets me to see

Hi @geemo-from-paris! You have just received a 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!


@tipU quick guide | How to check your pending payouts.

I can't stop watching/reading/listening.

You've got the Midas touch.

This is a masterpiece.

You're a genius!

I'm blown away.

You make it look easy!

It is so sad to see this I'm really fortunate for what i have

Yes it is so sad
Makes one appreciate what we have but also wonder about these people and hope they can see better times

agree with you. we have to be happy what we have.

Yes indeed

Good shots! They hit home.

A photo reply from The Netherlands:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 55mm, ISO1000, f2.8, 1/160s

WOW your shot is very powerful
The way the person is sitting is as if the weight of the world is on his shoulders

Heartbreaking photos. Counting my blessings.

Yes seeing them made me count my blessings as well

This is the same as in Budapest, there are many homelesses in the undergrounds and even the streets. Only one billion HUF would be needed to solve the problem, instead stadiums are being built everywhere in the country, from 15 to 20 billion each. (1USD=250HUF)

Images like these have a way of bringing us back to earth again.

Even thought seeing people begging on the street is a common sight and I know many are scammers, seeing these 3 sleeping there at 6:45 in the morning did make me think and wonder what happened in their lives to lead them to this point

We just have to be aware always of how true blessed we are. I keep doing that every day. Love your post.

Thanks
And yes I try and do the same

Great photos of sad subject. And a reminder that one should newer forget.

Thanks
And yes we should never forget

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76