The Intrepid Sea Air and Space Museum

in #photography5 years ago

The Intrepid Sea Air and Space Museum

For this post I will share a few shots of the Intrepid Sea Air and Space Museum

1 The Intrepid3.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger



From Wikipedia

The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is an American military and maritime history museum with a collection of museum ships in New York City. It is located at Pier 86 at 46th Street in the Hell's Kitchen neighborhood on the West Side of Manhattan. The museum showcases the aircraft carrier USS Intrepid, the cruise missile submarine USS Growler, a Concorde SST, a Lockheed A-12 supersonic reconnaissance plane, and the Space Shuttle Enterprise. On the lower deck there is also a reproduction of a WWI biplane.

Founded in 1982, the museum closed in 2006 for a 1.5-year renovation of Intrepid and facilities. Those included new exhibits. The museum reopened to the public on November 8, 2008.

Here is a shot of it showing its length and you can see some of the aircraft on the deck, and since this is a mono Shot and it is Mondya let me make this an entry for Monochrome Monday hosted by @old-guy-photos

1 The Intrepid2.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


I remember decades ago when back in New Zeland at some stage an Air Craft carrier visited New Zealand and the fact that always sticks in my mind, is that it has more Aircraft on it than the New Zealand Airforce has, More Navy personal than the New Zeland Navy, and more troops on board than the New Zeland Army, really impressed on me how big it was even though I did not see it at the time, but every time I see the Intrepid I do remember reading that, especially when viewing it from this angle in the next shot

1 The Intrepid4.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


I did visit this Museum prior to the renovation and the addition of the Space Shuttle I must visit it again sometime soon

1 The Intrepid5.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


And finishing in with a close-in shot of the tower on the ship, I did also get some shots of the aircraft on the desk, well the aircraft were on the Deck I was off the ship for those shots, but I will share them in a future post

1 The Intrepid.jpg

Sony A7iii 47mm F8 1/200 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.764413 lat -73.999665 long The Intrepid NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Awesome photography of the Intrepid Sea Air and Space Museum.

Thanks Kindly ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-intrepid-sea-air-and-space-museum


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks so much appreciated

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks so much truly appreciated

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I loved my visit to the museum. I wish I could find all of my pictures that I took there. I don't remember if I used a real camera or a digital one. I am guessing it must have been a film camera and the prints are buried in a album somewhere.

I to cant find te photos I took from my last visit there, or maybe i didnt take any, but I do plan on visiting it again soon and will have my camera with me :)

He is an impressive giant 😯

Ohh yes indeed make sone feel very small

That brought back memories... I was on it in2000, time for another visit.... terrific post!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think thats about whenI last when on it

The ship is very impressive from the angle you captured it. So, Intrepid Sea is a part of the museum? One of its ships?

The Ship is the Museum :)

I see. I was confused by words "with a collection of museum ships" :) Thank you

Sorry that smy bad i worded it wrong :(

Monochrome photography gives this such a nice touch, amazing ship tied into a lot of history. Good to see she is on display with modern and old displayed!

Excellent photography, no one likes war, however marvel at the ingenuity that goes into war craft.

Ohh yeah it is greta to see this i think its well over 10 years since i went on board and checked it out i must do it again soon

That ship is intimidating! Wow! I mean, I guess it should be, all things considered. LOL! You come up with such interesting outings. :)

Well yes your right of course it needs ot be intimidating considering its a war ship but unti I visited it the first time i never realized how intimidating it is LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85