A little smooth criminal

in #photography5 years ago

My daughter is pretty lucky that she gets her "photo genes" from her mother's side. I took these about an hour ago as we bought her a summer hat the other day and it went perfectly with what she was already wearing and I couldn't resist snapping a few pictures off :)

One of the benefits of having white walls and ceiling is that it is pretty easy with a flash to get a clean image with natural colours without having to do a great deal of work in post. I cleaned these up a little though because I take pictures as if one leg is a foot longer than the other, meaning that most are crooked.

I am shooting with an Olympus EM-1, an off-camera flash and a 12-40 2.8 lens. The camera is a few years old now but does a good job for these kinds of things. Good enough for me as an amateur photography enthusiast anyway.

I know people who have the latest and greatest but as I see it, it is quite a lot about having an eye for the image, as well as having the ability to capture the moment. I remember reading an article about 10 years ago where they gave point-and-click type digitals to amateurs and some National Geographic photographers to see what each could do. Even with a low-grade camera, the difference was enormous as the training of the eye to capture the scene was so different.

While I was looking through some folders, I found some older pictures of my daughter from around 2 years ago and while she is consistent in my memory, she is almost unrecognizable in appearance. One thing that has not changed very much is her humor and cheekiness, as well as many of her goofy expressions.

The future of childhood portraiture is changing rapidly as I have only a handful of pictures of myself as a kid and most of them are not close to being a portrait. These days where most people have a decent phone camera and many also have quality digital rigs, there are going to be a lot of high quality images floating about. I think that this summer I am going to have to put some together and print a book or two though, because one problem with digital is storage.

I wonder if it is ever going to be a thing where families have their own blockchains to add images and notes to and family members run witnesses to make sure that the memories of a family are saved for future generations. It would be pretty amazing network of family trees as not only would it be the who, but lots of the data of the person's experience and growth. Everyone would have a biography being written for them as they live their lives.

I might write about that later. :)

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

It's not the tools, it's how you use them XD (better tools does help but it will do sfa for a piece that was mediocre to start with)

I remember when JJ was doing more photography-related stuff than he is now (which is to say barely anything as he's gone back to his card habit) one of the things we learned was that apparently sometimes it's not even subject matter as much as composition that can make an epic image, as an example the professional photographer that was saying this took an epic photo of...a toilet block.

In this case though I think it's physically impossible to take a bad photo of small. Her cuteness simply precludes this from being anywhere within the realm of possibility.

Family blockchains (or even just data repos in general, doesn't necessarily have to be a blockchain) could and should totally be a thing, would make keeping family history so much easier XD Though having said that there absolutely has to be the option of making such things private because there are a lot of people who would rather not use tech that insists on being totally transparent for no logical reason other than B..B..BUT TRANSPARENCY IS GOOD BECAUSE IT JUST IS regardless of how amazing it otherwise is.

Otherwise only other problem I can see with family histories being written as they're lived...well some people just aren't bloggers/writers/vloggers/anything useful as far as currently passing on information to accompany photos goes so what you end up knowing about them is what other people decide to write about them.

Hm another thought, I wonder if this would exacerbate or reduce family feuds? O_o

as an example the professional photographer that was saying this took an epic photo of...a toilet block.

I think some of the best images I have seen have made the mundane/ugly, beautiful.

In this case though I think it's physically impossible to take a bad photo of small. Her cuteness simply precludes this from being anywhere within the realm of possibility.

I agree but I am her father :D

Though having said that there absolutely has to be the option of making such things private

Yep, it would have to be a private chain with family witnesses :) Although it could dtill loop through other chains to connect points up. So many options coming.

Hm another thought, I wonder if this would exacerbate or reduce family feuds?

Would likely make them worse :D

Nice work on these photos @tarazkp.

"... it is quite a lot about having an eye for the image, as well as having the ability to capture the moment."

Agreed. Whatever little "teeny, weeny" artistic talent I might have is put into photography...

"It would be pretty amazing network of family trees as not only would it be the who, but lots of the data of the person's experience and growth. Everyone would have a biography being written for them as they live their lives."

Family history. A "world" all its own, into which I have invested a considerable amount of time in years gone by. The pursuit of an American "mutt" to figure out their ancestral heritage ... 😏

Like everything else, the "digital world" is having a great impact. Making it easier to get further, faster, than ever before ...

Putting both of these concepts together, it will be interesting for you, perhaps, to see whether your daughter lives to experience what you are "prophesying" about in the years to come ...


P.S. "My daughter is pretty lucky that she gets her "photo genes" from her mother's side." 👍😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed. Whatever little "teeny, weeny" artistic talent I might have is put into photography...

I think photography is a good amateur artistic pursuit, especially these days where the cost of a bad shot is space on a memory card :D

Putting both of these concepts together, it will be interesting for you, perhaps, to see whether your daughter lives to experience what you are "prophesying" about in the years to come ...

I also see a potential dytopia so hopefully she doesn't have to live that side :)

Dystopia?! NOooo, say it isn't so @tarazkp. Everyone says we're "evolving" to utopia ... 😉

A family blockchain is a great idea! Surely something Steem could do as well!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It would be a nice interface I think where family members could sign up and participate in a closed chain.

Agree, that storage is the problem but as @arthur.grafo suggested there will probably be a new tech to store our old post and information. I have to believe this or go back to hard copies and not do Steemit for posterity.

I am hoping that tech comes soon because I have hundreds of thousands of images :D
The blockchain is good for the words, not the images.

I didn't know the blockchain held the words easier than images. That's helpful information and I will put more effort into my descriptions.

The blockchain is text based, the images are stored on harddrives, not the blockchain (I am pretty sure).

great photos man. and your daughter is a real model :D

digitalrev had and interesting series with pro photographers and just ridiculous cameras

Will check it out. Photography can be an endless money pit these days.

it can be, there are all this cool things and we need them all :D

CMjdd54UkAA23MQ.jpg

Definitely the talent and experience of the photographer adds much to an image, the camera is a tool after all but the photographer is the real artist. Nice pictures by the way, your kid is very photogenic.

Yep, just a tool and how it is used is what matters.

You really do have a gift for framing a shot! And of course the fact that your daughter is adorable doesn’t hurt! I took countless pictures of my kids when they were little and only.a handful are truly stunning. I lacked both the skill and the decent equipment! But some of the best were in bright lighting when they were playing dress-up. Somehow, as you have shown with these pictures of your beautiful daughter, that is an absolutely magical combination that captures the essence of angelic innocence.

and only.a handful are truly stunning.

I think that is actually enough as the tendency these days is to take so many that the special ones are devalued in some way. I think it is a scarcity issue, just like crypto has. The rare moments captured are valuable.

But some of the best were in bright lighting when they were playing dress-up.

They get lost in the world and forget that there is a camera I think. I like taking candid shots too but they are much harder to control for light.

Yes I think those of us with lesser skills and equipment take too many in the hope that we will accidentally capture at least one that’s pretty good. True about them being lost in their world. One of my favorite sessions was one of my daughters making giant bubbles out on the driveway. Such delight.

Posted using Partiko iOS

One of my favorite sessions was one of my daughters making giant bubbles out on the driveway.

I am hoping for this, this year. We bought the bubble thing but we haven't had time during good weather to be outside yet.

You got a 40.94% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68