"The Old Anatomicum" Creating a Photo Step by Step

in #photography8 years ago

Yesterday I made this photo. It's a photo of the Old Anatomicum of Tartu University which is roughly 200 years old. It recently got renovated. I took this picture at midnight. It's a composition of 3 separate pictures. The weather was windy and there was mild rainfall.
The original pictures looked like this:

161008muu161008original_IGP2211d851d.jpg
ISO100; 18mm; f8; 30s

ISO100; 18mm; f10; 10s
161008muu161008original_IGP22146b2a6.jpg
ISO100; 18mm; f22; 6s

I edited each picture in Lightroom. The first picture was a good base picture. It had most dark areas nice and bright. The second pictures was edited to get the foreground and parts of the tree. I liked the dark shadows in the grass. The third image was to recover overexposed parts on the building.
After Editing them in Lightroom the images looked like this:

161008muu1610081st-lightroom_IGP221188c0f.jpg

161008muu1610081st-lightroom_IGP2213cb9e8.jpg

161008muu1610081st-lightroom_IGP22142d7b9.jpg

I exported all images as layers into Photoshop and started blending them together. I mixed the grass from the first two images and used the tree trunk from picture 2. I blended the third picture on all overexposed areas and used a color mask to bring back color. In the end I added a high pass filter to sharpen the whole image. (Before you do any that, be sure to align all layers.)
Every step as a GIF:

After Photoshop I took the image back to Lightroom and removed lens distortions. I also increased contrast and clarity in the sky and gave it a blue tint. I really like how the droplets of water on my lens paint hexagons onto the sky.

Then I gave it a final polish in ColorEfex2. I brought out some detail in the facade and added a blueish glow to upper left corner, on the tree and on the right side facade to fake a moon glow.

Here's the finished Image again:


My Previous Photography posts


https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/steemitphotochallenge-entry-midnight-city
https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/photography-20-botanical-gardens
https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/standing-under-powerlines


I'm happy to edit your photos! Post them here:
https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/editing-your-photos-1


Hope you like them! Critique is welcome!
Check out my other posts @sulev
Follow!

Sort:  

Some great post-processing skills going on there! Well done.

Thanks for the helpful explanation--the result is stunning too!

Lovely! Do you use the HDR function in your camera? Or do you prefer to capture various images by changing the exposure levels?

I don't use HDR.

Very cool description of your process. Did you shoot at different apertures to do a type of focus stacking? Or was it just to get different exposures? I've never done a composite image like this at different apertures, just different shutter speeds to blend exposure.

Never done focus stacking. Just used it to get a dark exposure. Maybe i'll give it a try next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64