About Photography: Macro Extension Tubes - Macro on a Budget

in #photography7 years ago

Macro lenses are expensive. And in truth all new lenses are expensive. If you are like me and regularly count pennies using macro rings might be the answer you've been looking. Macro rings are a cheap way to get acquainted with the world of macro.

Macro Extension tubes

Macro extension tubes or macro rings are a set of 3 rings. It's up to you how many you use. Depending on the amount you use you can focus nearer and nearer. Macro rings come in two versions: manual and auto. Manual rings are usually sold under 10$ and auto rings (which allow you to change the aperture and focus through camera automatically) are usually sold around 40$.

Sharpness

Using macro rings will magnify the center of your lens. So a good center-sharp lens is required. I got myself a cheap manual 50mm that works like a charm. I recommend buying old manual retro lenses if you are on a budget. They are really good. You might even find a good deal for an old macro lens on ebay!

Aperture

There more rings you use the shallower the depth of field will be. Therefore it's useful to use a high aperture unless you are looking for that artsy bokeh look. The more open your aperture is the bigger the bokeh will be. (bokeh will be magnified just like the rest of the image!)
If you use automatic lenses with manual rings the aperture will be locked at your minimum aperture value. That will degrade the picture since very high apertures will cause diffraction and using macro rings will magnify that.

Some of my examples with an open aperture:

Some of my samples with a narrow aperture:


F/32.0

F/8.0

Exposure

As you add rings the picture gets magnified which means less light will fall on your lens. Use the exposure triangle to compensate for the loss of light.
I would strongly recommend using a tripod, speedlights and flashlights to get best results.
Also time your shots. Try to shoot at mid day when it's the brightest.

Alternatives

In theory you could build your own macro tubes like so:

Or use an reverse rings instead which let's you screw your lens on the camera the other way:


Macro photography is awesome! Be sure to try it out. For 10$ you can already get started.
Hope you liked it! Critique is welcome!
Have questions? Let me know in the comments.
Check out my other posts @sulev
Follow!

Sort:  

I use cheap macro lens for smartphones. Nothing special but fun. But pro equipment keeps me interested a lot

Cool. I have never tried gear for smartphones. Do you have some sample shots?

Another useful lesson with interesting examples, @sulev. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thank you!! Really appreciate it :)

A good approach for small pockets. But I prefer a macro lens. If you take a 90 or 85 f=2.8 you get a macro lens and a portrait lens at once. Sadly, my tubes didn't work well with my lens. (upvoted)

Yeah, but you'll get more magnification with the tubes and it doesn't cost anything to try out. (besides the 10$) But of course you'll have keep changing the rings and mounting/unmounting the lens to switch between portrait and macro. But a real macro lens is better, more convenient.

You are absolutely correct. Another option could be to buy an old macro lens. My tubes were about $60+ as far as I remember. I should have chosen the old lens.

interesting...thanks

Thanks for reading! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33