Deconstructing the Belfry

in #photography7 years ago

Do you ever feel like having company while simultaneously being by yourself?

Silence is key to relaxation for many of us, but having the presence of someone, or something, nearby makes that quality time all the better.

It's that mutual desire of seclusion and relaxation with a sense of community that some people crave.
This creates a paradox, yes, but why do we do it? Why sit by ourselves in a park full of people?
A sense of mutual understanding, perhaps? Maybe it's subconscious need for safety and non-overt inclusion while outwardly we need alone time?

This isn't a bad thing, by any means; it's just a little curious. Nature seems to have sent me winged companions of relaxation while I read, write, or just take some time out.

Bats 1.jpg

This cosy colony of bats decided to take residence under the thatch in my backyard. They're an understanding bunch, silent in the daytime and just as uncomfortable with the noises of the day as I am.

13254515_10153457040806193_8450596884356051365_n.jpg

Since I'm lacking in wings (an unfortunate turn of events in life), I tend to wear a cape and hat while forced to mingle during daylight hours. These friends of mine have an innate sense of fashion, on the other hand.

Our relationship is one of mutual respect - a necessary trait to have in society, I think - without much prying, other than a "salam" or "hello, how do you do" upon meeting.

11707487_10152862156976193_3465834018956729384_n.jpg

I get on with my goings-on, they with theirs. Their goings-on are mostly hiding their faces and swivelling hither-dither to check on my movements. The above individual even dropped from his perch once, landed on the table in front of me, proceeded to splay out his wings and do what can only be described as a jig before lifting off again clumsily to act like nothing of out of the ordinary had happened.

Sort:  

To be able to sit in silence with someone and be content is the ultimate ... and I love the bats, once upon a time there were about 30 fruit bats hanging under the overhang at the office building where I work. I've resteemed this as I always enjoy your posts, even though they're usually very short :) . Would like it to be featured on #newbieresteemday.

Thanks so much for the kindest sentiment, dearest Leigh! :D It means a lot, really.
What kind of area is your workplace in, by the way? Did those bats move on?
I notice that they seem to migrate for a while, or a season, and then come back again to their old roosting spot.

Regarding the bats, the office building is a 2 story in central Port Edward which is a small town down the south coast of KZN. So it's always quiet. I think the painters who came to renovate scared them off. Hopefully they'll be back.

Also, I'm never sure whether readers prefer shorter pieces or longer ones! xD I enjoy writing longer stuff, but I get the feeling that it gets glossed over these days since most people prefer bite-sized chunks.

I also have this dilemma (although I haven't written in a while due to time constraints). Depends on the subject matter I suppose ... if you are able to hold the reader's attention with interesting and captivating writing, a long post is great. For some general info on Steemit and for assistance in all things to do with this platform, check out @davemccoy. I also enjoy certain autobiographical writing, and a recent piece on Elon Musk which was very long, held my attention throughout. It was written by a seasoned journalist, @neilstrauss, really good. I enjoy your writing, try a longer one ...

Yes! Omg I always want two different things at the same time! Then I end up super indecisive.

Wanting company while also wanting to be alone...that makes so much sense to me lol.

There are only a few people I can comfortably sit in silence with.

Also, just saw some bats yesterday...but I didn't get any sweet pics like this.

Indecision like that can always kill any activity for me! xD Sometimes choice can be a bad thing haha.
I'm very much the same. I'm the type of extrovert who's fine in company and seemingly outgoing, etc. but I need my alone time else I can't function. Which is why weekends away with friends can sometimes become a bit daunting for me, especially when everything has to be a group event, you know?

Try to get pics of those bats if you see them again!

Congratulations @smokedcaffe! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @smokedcaffe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48