Travel Recap - Stray Dogs of Thailand

in #photography6 years ago

During my trip through Thailand, I've met a lot of animals. Pets, strays, nearly dying ones, happy ones - let's just say many in different conditions

It was interesting to see the condition of the animals getting better the more south I traveled. In fact, on the islands all the animals seemed well-fed and taken cared for as far as I could see.

Unfortunately, that does mean that in the north the conditions weren't that great. Especially near the Myanmar border, the dogs were in bad conditions and also witnessed one of them suffering from some kind of seizure. It was beyond sad to see, but I guess that's how most of the things work there (?).

In a Karen Village in Umphang

Phuket Old Town

Beach Doggie at Koh Lanta

Market near the Myanmar border

Market near the Myanmar border

Snoozing in Koh Tao

Doofus in Koh Tao

Derp Dog in Bangkok

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand and Australia (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

I remember all the dogs I saw when I was in Thailand and even saw one get hit by a car on a very busy street. I made friends with a pack of them on a beach and they used to follow me when I would walk through the jungle to the other side of the island. I would always make sure to reward them with scraps I purchased from the resort operators. I really love the Thai dogs as they have a good temperament and remind me of a dingo.

Ah, that is really sad to hear. I'm pretty sure it didn't end we with the dog :(

Your other story however makes me a lot happier! They do look cute and rest wanted to take one home!

my first visit was in 2000, and it was crazy how many dogs i saw on the streets. I was also amazed to see how they maneuvered around people and especially vehicles. I kept thinking i’m going to see so many dead dogs hit by cars. Maybe i was lucky because i never did see any hit by a car.

each visit since, there has been less dogs on the street.
My wife says that people’s views have changed and less dumping of puppies etc because they are being spayed and neutered more now than in the past. I believe as well the government had a program to collect up strays and spay and neuter them.

My last visit april 2017 i actually saw more stray cats than i did dogs.

This is my view just in the area i stay in Bangkok at my in laws neighbourhood.

It is very sad to see some dogs very hungry and with obvious health problems, but it has gotten much better than in the past.

Sure it is very sad. I myself feel sorry for those animals.

Heavy attention tax is required to shift people's focus to animals if people themselves need help. People in the developed world can afford to see other opportunities for improvement as they have gone past the 'worrying about the basic needs stage. When your stomach is full all the time, you can start thinking about other things that matter, such as animal ethics. Just putting other people's perspective here.

I agree with this. Your own health goes first and then you can start worrying about anything else around you I suppose.

However, a lot of people don't even care for these animals as living beings - they kick it, slap it, pull at it's legs, throw things at it.. :l

Because people are generally horrible. They also do the same to human beings. :)

There are a lot of stray dogs and cats! Fortunately, the community is slowly warming up to the idea of these pets, but not every one and in some parts it is still (really) bad. In Bangkok I didn't see many animals in the first place though!

it´s so hard to see all these street and beach dogs and there isn´t much you can do. we always feed them if we got something with us.

Yeah, exactly. :(

My husband and I are advocates for dogs and I really enjoyed your sharing this story from your travels. Upvoted and following!

Thank you. Unfortunately not all dogs were fortunate though :(

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:11:13
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 7.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The black dog looks really unwell :(

Yeah, we met him at the border of Burma. There were a couple of dogs in his state and worse. One collapsed of probably a seizure :l

Thats really sad and worst part is person dont really care about stray dogs. They will spend alot on the high breed dogs but no one want to own a stray dog.

awww So cute creatures! The Doofus looks like smiling on us :)

Hahah, yes, he looks very silly!

Smell is one of the most important senses to recognize the surrounding environment with the resulting aroma. About the level of olfactory smell, the researchers found that African elephants outperformed rats, cows, horses, dogs. Even if compared with the human smell, the olfaction of African elephants is five times sharper than humans.

Hey Shannon, love your blog.

Never heard of Spectacles. Great design, did you design the site?

Thank you!

And yes, I am both founder and designer of the platform! Currently actively seeking another developer to help us out with the coding :)

Did you lay out the vision for the tool somewhere?

I looked at the code base at GitHub. The application is coded with Angular. I switched from Angular to ReactJS a long time ago (and will never return :).​

When you write a post about you looking for a developer I can resteem it for you. Maybe this helps you find the right programmer.

I think I wrote it down in the launch post of @spectacles, which was actually awhile back actually.

Same goes for a post from a couple of months back where I announced we were looking for some help!

Point is that my current developer is quite inactive on both Steemit and side projects due to life (lol) so unfortunately spectacles has been a bit neglected :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51