DOWN ON THE DOCKSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

We decided to harden up and take a walk around Wellington’s rough and dangerous port.

Feeling brave we took our lives in our hands and checked out all the forbidden sights at the waterfront.

Alongside the drunken sailors there were gangs of Asian criminals waiting to sell passers by opium and other drugs.

Parents were dragging children along the wharfs looking for ships to sell them into slavery on and they were clearly as terrified as mice on hot tin roofs.

Everywhere we went there were crowds of degenerates queuing up to buy the products of western oppression, like meat and coffee.

Hoards of tourists were lurking around looking for prostitutes, and there was a constant sense that violence was about to go down at the drop of a hat.

We were relieved to make it to the other end alive, and we are well aware the walking through Wellington’s dangerous waterfront is not something to risk often, because luck always runs out, sooner or later.

Still buzzing from our lucky escape, we left the squalor and stench behind by crossing the road back to the civilized part of town. A gang in a Mercedes cruised by and eyed us up for a drive by, giving us one more reminder that we were taking a walk on the wild side.



MY STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Because I want to go on about myself and blow my own trumpet I have written a signature. Sometimes Cheetabot points out that I am copying content off myself. The bot is quite right, I am indeed plagiarising my own Steemit signature, but hopefully all the important stuff was at the top of the post.

@sift666 is my Steemit alias. As 666 is the number following 665 and preceding 667, and I’m using the number here on my Steemit account, it might mean I’m a worshiper of Satan. Or it could indicate that I have troll tendencies I need to work out with myself.

My real name is Ian Gregson, aka wheels007. I’m a professional sifter from Wellington New Zealand. My interests include photography, conspiracies , web design, writing, nutrition, art, design, philosophy, technology, anarchy, health, computers, humour (humor), gratuitous arse shots, and anything that makes my eyes bulge while I make squeaking sounds (except torture).

Back in the glory days of Steemit (August 2016), I once made $404 for a post and went on a three month bender. It took months to work off the after effects of the hangover and I’m still attempting to understand how that ever happened.

I’m currently developing a new website portal to rival Steemit called www.frot.co.nz where I’m testing out a new feature called “frottage” that may revolutionise blogging and create a global paradigm shift.

Photos and pictures labeled @sift666, www.sift.co.nz or www.frot.co.nz are my own creations, while pictures with no credits are often ones I found in my image collection and have no idea where they originally came from. Otherwise, due to pressure to conform, I’m having a crack at including an image credit beneath each picture I copy off the internet. I do have opinions on this subject, but am practicing putting a sock in it.

To tell the truth I often have no idea what I’m going to post next, but I will be sure to include pictures. If you are a person who prefers mainstream opinion, my posts may not be entirely your cup of tea. But if you like to dwell on the wild fringes of conspiracy theory, or you are a whale with a massive blowhole, you might like to follow me on Steemit. It would be great to have you on board.

Sort:  

At least there were no Vogons, forcing you to listen to their poetry.

This one startled me into laughing, I think your posts might become one of my daily musts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89