A BROWN XMAS

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

While Americans were all doing posts about a white Xmas, here in New Zealand we had a brown Xmas!

For the past month and a half it was stinking hot and we had no rain, so everything died or turned brown.

We live next to the Sahara desert:

(for some reason somebody keeps spray painting penises all around the hood)

On Xmas day it suddenly started raining and despite the bad timing we were pleased to get some water.

And then on Boxing Day it started really raining – in fact it rained more in one hour that it had in the previous 48 days (and almost all of that rain was on Xmas day).

So everywhere flooded, and we got brown flood water.

Pretty cool huh? – We had a brown Xmas.

This is just down the road from us:

https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/100173120/wellington-floods-after-more-rain-falls-in-one-hour-than-in-the-past-48-days


WWW.SIFT.CO.NZ


Sort:  

i want to know who the fark is spray painting donkey dicks all over the place??

I can hardly say that I am sorry for you, with that big beautiful ocean right there...but it was 3 below zero in Denver ... Hey - are you ready to do another conspiracy art contest? Maybe after new years?

Yes I just saw that - awesome - I'll get an entry ready :)

I love this is it pastel or digital?

It's originally pen on paper, and then it's been through one of the filters I use on my photos - I'm just playing around with using them on art too - so it's digital - I hope I can do some cool stuff when I get the hang of it

Someone, years ago, tried to tell me that the whole "white Christmas" thing was racist. They probably had too much brown Christmas water in their ears.

Did you ask for a canoe for Christmas?

LOL!!! I remember a few years ago, someone here in Denver said that "Black Holes" were rascist...

I wrote up an article last Christmas after I discovered how some women thought Santa was making fun of them. HO! HO! HO! They're going insane!

No!!!! this is not real is it???

I am speechless.

Feast or famine with the rain by you. I've got my own problems living with this Platinum Blonde. https://steemit.com/whysoserious/@manorvillemike/life-can-get-complicated-why-so-serious

images.duckduckgo.jpg

Nature listened you i guess ;)

It has been an unusually hot christmas here.
So hot, our Sand Men are melting. We don't get any snow to make snow men.

Tomatoes and zucchini are still growing.

I'm glad you finally got rain at least. Droughts are my least favorite extreme weather, no fun.

Hiya fellow kiwi! I'm way down south and we got rain for xmas too. I didn't mind as the garden was gasping. Didn't get a brown xmas, but more of a green one. :D

Dublin on Christmas Day...temperature about 8C with heavy rain
Christmas-Swim90385588 (3).jpg

Here in NJ, USA we have white xmas and freezing temperatures. The low today is 10 Fahrenheit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60666.02
ETH 2636.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60