Split Tone Photos [inspired by @thecryptofiend]

in #photography8 years ago

Steemit tutorial tryout


I'm really impressed whow much creative input steemit-users provide and how many great people share their knowledge.

After reading this article by @thecryptofiend, I was inspired to try out the split-toning technique for myself.

I used Lightroom CC several times before but wasn't aware that there is such an easy way to do it.

This is the original image:

This is the standard b/w version:

This sepia-like version uses the same tinting for highlights and shadows:

This effect is achieved by using somewhat yollowish highlights and violet shadows (as you can see in the screenshot of my Lightroom-settings below):


I'm using a german version. Above are the highlights, below the shadows.

This is the last version I tried out, using some dark yellow in the highlights and deep reds for the shadows:


And this are the settings I used.


Many thanks for @thecryptofiend to show me those easy and fun way to experiment with my photos!

Be sure to follow him for more great tutorials and don't forget to follow @shortcut for more artful experiments like this.

Sort:  

Lol, yes. Many more to come ;-)

Great shot - I love portraits! Every face tells a story. There is a sadness in the model's eyes that I pick up on here. Love the way you have framed it too. The model has great bone structure and your positioning makes a bold composition with the facial contours leading one into the eyes.

Thanks for trying it out and for the shout out. Just a quick tip if you hold a reflector in front of the model's face (experiment to find the right angle) it is a great way to emphasise the face and get brightness in the eyes.

Thanks a lot for your detailed critics about the photography. Very helpful.
Actually I had been the model in this photography. And I have to admit, that you are very good at reading faces. I really was in a sad mood during that time. But that's another story.
I guess I will get a reflector soon, as it is a long time wish and my birthday is not far away. Thanks again for your tutorial, those small little tricks really are valuable.

Hi. OK that makes it harder to use a reflector then! Hope you feel better - Happy Birthday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52