Travel With Me - Cathedral Basilica of St. Augustine

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

StAugustine.jpg

Over the summer I took full advantage of the Florida sunshine, touring hot spots within an hours drive of my home. On this particular day I set out to explore St. Augustine with my husband. St. Augustine prides itself on being the oldest city in the U.S. and is always buzzing with excited tourists eager to soak up its history. I've always loved religious art so naturally I spend the better part of the day gazing in awe at the beauty of the Cathedral Basilica of St. Augustine! Below are some of the images I captured that day.

StAugustine6.jpg

StAugustine3.jpg

Fr. Felix Varela welcomes visitors near the gate with arms extending out.

StAugustine9.jpg

StAugustine5.jpg

Breathtaking murals adorn the walls, depicting scenes from the history of the catholic church.

StAugustine10.jpg

Though its incredibly quiet the church is rarely empty, visitors are welcomed in to light a candle for their loved ones. Guests move around as if they were ghosts, it's easy to get lost in your thoughts in such a peaceful place.

StAugustine8.jpg

I very much hope you enjoyed this post, I love sharing my travels with you! As always I appreciate you spending time with me today. I would also like to give a warm welcome to my new followers! Have a fantastic rest of your day and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow.

Did you miss my last post? Catch up here https://steemit.com/@shoogie and don't forget to give that "Upvote" button some love!

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

This post has received a 0.72 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @shoogie.

You got a 0.79% upvote from @upme requested by: @shoogie.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55863.62
ETH 2927.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28