📷 Holidays in the Allgäu - A winter's hike

in #photography6 years ago

winters-hike-thumb-2.jpg

Greetings Steemians!


After a sunny start, winter took over on the second day of my stay.

Not fearing the harsh conditions I set out for another hike, once again starting at the Nebelhorn.

winters-hike-1.jpg

The Nebelhorn's summit was covered in dark clouds with some erratic rays of sun highlighting the snowfields. The dramatic scenery got me carried away and all of a sudden I stood at the foot of Mount Doom:

mount doom-1.jpg

Awaking from my daydreaming, I was ready to go.

winters-hike-4.jpg

I ascended a few hundred meters of altitude through cold and moisty forest and arrived at a frozen lake, called Freibergsee. At present covered by a thick sheet of ice, yet during summer a popular spot for outdoor swimming.

Southern to the lake one of the world's largest ski flying hill, the Heini-Klopfer-Skiflugschanze.

I kept ascending, wading through fresh-fallen snow. At an altitude above 1400m I finally had to return, since I started to sink too deep into the fluffy snow mantle. I wished I had taken my snow shoes with me.

winters-hike-5.jpg

And so I was heading back down to the plains of Oberstdorf.

winters-hike-3.jpg

Time to enter a warm and cozy Inn for some wheat beer and a crusty knuckle of pork.

Thanks for joining my little tour!

Shaka


All photos were recorded by myself with a Canon EOS 7D equipped with a Tamron 18-270 mm lens.
Material used for collage work licensed from my personal Adobe stock account.

Sort:  

Mount Doom

Respect

Haha, thank you! If you enjoyed Mount Doom you may like the subtle manipulation in the final part of this series, too. Just posted it...

Cheers!

Sehr schön ! Gute Arbeit @shaka

What an awesome adventure, from Mt Doom down to Rohan. That lava flowing down the mountain is just amazing to look at. Not only that you are a great photographer, you are also a man of steel!

I'm looking forward to your posts about your adventure.

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed this little adventure. Down to the plains of Rohan - great idea :)

Your subject is extraordinary and I'm awed by your adventure. My comment comes out naturally because of it:-)
With your permission, I would like to feature your amazing work on the 24th edition of my Photocircle project alongside with other outstanding photographers :-) i hope to get your feedback about it. Thank you.

Sure, I'm fine with that :) Cheers!

Thanks a lot for being such a cool person :-) Cheers!

Sehr schöne Fotoreihe...
Und das Tagtraumfoto (wenn ich es richtig verstanden habe mit meinem bescheidenen Schulenglisch)
ist ein echtes Highlight!
Auf das Nebelhorn bin ich als Jugendlicher auch mal hochgelaufen. Ist aber echt schon lange her. ;-)

Ja, das war eine kleine Spielerei. Ich mache solche Kollagen immer ganz gerne mal, und die Assoziation mit dem Schicksalsberg hatte ich als alter Tolkien-Liebhaber tatsächlich :)

Zu fitteren Zeiten bin ich das Nebelhorn sogar regelmässig hochgejoggt. Der Ausblick von dort ist einer der eindrucksvollsten im Allgäu.

Also wer das Nebelhorn hochjoggen kann, darf sich mit Fug und Recht als topfit bezeichnen. ;-)
Selbst wer strammen Schrittes hochzugehen vermag, darf sich als durchaus gut in Form bezeichnen, wenn Du mich fragst. ;-)

Ich für meinen Teil bin schon mit 200 Höhenmetern hier am Rande des Spessart voll bedient, wenn ich sie hochjoggen müsste! :-)
Aber gut, wir gehen jetzt erst (ENDLICH!!!) über in die wärmere Jahreszeit. Die Form wird ja gerade erst aufgebaut!

I love your Mt Doom! I had to look at that a couple of times to see whether that was real or not...good job on that :)

I swear, I first reserved googled searched the image, because I thought this image is the best I have seen on the blockchain. Then when I re-read the post and with the conclusion realized we have some artistic skills at hand!

I fully agree with this! This mount doom is just amazing! :)

Thanks for all pictures by the way.

Thanks @lemouth ! Glad you enjoyed Mt Doom and the other pictures.

Cheers!

A pleasure to hear that even a pro like you had to look twice :)

Thanks for stopping by Terry!

At first, I thought it was a time exposure of a night skiing event...thinking wow that is pretty spectacular. Yep, I had to look twice, maybe 3 or 4 times :)

All photos are wonderful. But the „glooming mountain“ is incredible and it should receive a prize and should be shown in exhibitions! Great work! Looks like fire and light sparks falling down. Amazing!
Hope you had good shoes and a good equipment!

Thank you so much! I guess I would need to share that prize with the photographer who contributed the "glooming" part of that overlay.
Well, I was well equipped yet wasn't prepared for the amount of Neuschnee that in the end forced me to retreat.

In the meantime, I found the history of this photo and you really did a great work! Fantastic idea! You are a good story teller!

Thank you for taking us all on a personal tour @shaka,

You related your experience to "The Middle Earth" and I totally see that point but I have recently been totally addicted to "Game of Thrones" and see the scenery as "North of the Wall"...
And the Tower in the town of "Winterfell" :)

A pleasure @zest !

I also can't wait for the release of the final season of "GoT" :) Still, to me the appeal of Tolkien's world remains unrivaled and I guess that's why Mt Doom came to my mind first.

Cheers!

Hey Shaka, möchte hier auch mal einen Gruß hinterlassen und Danke sagen für ein paar upvotes von dir für mich Neuling. Wie ich sehe ist die Fotografie auch eine Leidenschaft von dir . Ich habe auch ständig die Kamera dabei, selbst wenn ich nur zum Bäcker gehe :) Gruß aus Griechenland vom Peloponnes - Holger

Hi Holger, freut mich, dass Du bei mir vobeischaust. Ja, Fotografieren ist ein grosses Hobby von mir. Tatsächlich gehe ich aber oft auch bewusst ohne Kamera aus dem Haus, um auch mal mit den Augen zu sehen und nicht nur durch die Kamera ;)

Grüsse aus Süddeutschland zurück!

Shaka

Ich habe immer Muffe das ich auf meine alten Tage "DAS MOTIV" meines Lebens verpasse. Ich weiß genau, habe ich die Knipse mal nicht dabei landet ein Ufo genau neben mir auf dem Acker :)

Haha, zumindest ein Handy sollte man in dem Fall dann mit dabei haben...

very good photography and an execellent composite photograph :) Next time i wish me a picture from the good food you take at the end of a trip ;-)

Cheers and good evening.
Rivalzzz

Glad to hear that, thank you! As for the food, good point, I think I can do that!

Sehr abwechslungsreiche Szenerie, gut festgehalten. Macht Lust auf Partizipation ^^ - Beste Grüße!

Danke und Grüsse zurück!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82