Crossing the Swabian Jura: A two day hike from Ulm to Owen - Part 3, Hiking along the Alb's cultural landscape

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

3-00.jpg

Greetings Steemians!

Welcome to the second leg of my two day hike across the Swabian Jura.

After a refreshing lunch break and a bit of stretching I continued my hike. There were a good 18 k left to go and I wanted to make sure to reach my accomodation before dusk. The Alb is a very sparsely populated region with limited options to shorten the hike due to unforeseen events.

This section of my hike was very different from the previous one. During the climb the surrounding changed after almost every bend of the track, whereas after reaching the plateau a rather homogenous cultural landscape opened up with one large field after the other.

3-10.jpg
Fields are made ready for winter.

3-20.jpg

3-21.jpg
There were many of these solitary trees. Each one having it's own appeal.

3-50.jpg

3-60.jpg

3-70.jpg

3-73.jpg

3-91.jpg
After a while the grasslands became rougher and less cultivated.

3-92.jpg
I came closer to the Schopflocher highmoor. I will show you it's eerily beautiful ambience in the next stage of this tour.

I was able to keep my pace up and so I reached my night stay already in mid afternoon. After a quick shower I went out for dinner. I felt like having something really substantial:

3-99.jpg
The Restaurant's self-introduction was quite unusual. Instead of an ointment of self-congratulation, they decided to let their food speak for itself. And it worked ;)

With 32 km in my legs there was nothing to regret with this sumptuous meal :)

Thanks for watching and 'til the next stage of this tour!

Shaka


Photos recorded by myself with an iPhone 6S.


If anything prevents you from making full use of your VP you can follow my curation trail on Steemauto.

Sort:  

so nice landscape
These pictures reminded me of my memories
i follow you and I am impatiently waiting for the reports
20160409_111622.jpg

Hahaha diese Speisekarte ist genial :D
Ich steh voll drauf, wenn sich Betriebe auf eine derart kreative Weise dem Konsumenten annähern :)

Wie immer toller Bericht und wunderschöne Fotos!

Eine landschaftlich sehr schöne Tour hast du dir rausgesucht. :-)
Wieso verspüre ich jetzt auf einmal so Gelüste nach Gyros und Kartoffelscheiben? Die Karte ist ja der Knaller :-D

Zugegebenermassen nicht gerade die typische schwäbische Küche, aber der Grieche war der einzige, der zu meiner relativ frühen Ankunftszeit schon offen hatte. War aber wirklich sehr lecker :)

Sieht auch lecker aus :-)
Für schwäbische Küche hast du bestimmt noch Gelegenheit :-)

Yes, @shaka, that last landscape is the most… well, tasty one ;)))

32km alter Schwede! Ich wäre nach der Hälfte umgekehrt! 😉
ich bin absoluter kein Läufer und würde sowas im Leben nicht schaffen.

Die Karte ist der Hammer! 😂

Ja, also regelmässig mache ich solche Touren auch nicht :) Nach zwei Tagen mit je dieser Streckenlänge war dann auch wirklich gut ;)

Die Karte war wirklich der Knüller :D

Great report and nice pictures. The landscape reminds me on my hometown (just without mountains :D ) Where I used to live before. But to be honest, I envy you VERY much for the food you had. I really do miss German food a lot after 2 years in Thailand.

After such a beautiful hike tour with a wonderful landscape, you will surely already have appetite. Great food!

Sorry, aber gegen diese Speisekarte verblassen die Landschaften ein wenig. 😎

I love country site. I born in a small village which was full of great scenery, lots of greenery and freshness everywhere. You reminded me my childhood. This place is so beautiful. It was your right to have a nice meal after such a nice expedition. Have a nice time dear @shaka.

Herrliche Heimatbilder!!
Landschaftlich wie hier bei uns in Tauberfranken! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16