Mean Locust!!

in #photography6 years ago

Mean Locust!!
IMG_6155.jpg
It is strange how things sometimes work. 3 days ago I posted a post on a Grasshopper titled Smilling Scary Face and then on Sunday while visiting a friend and he showing me his vegetable garden I bump into another grasshopper or is it a Locust? In South Africa, we only have one name for a Grasshopper / Locust in my home language Afrikaans, which is "Springkaan" . You can click on the link Grasshopper / Locust to read about the differences. As you can see on the photo above this Grasshopper has quite a mean face!! Below you can see him from the side, it seems to me that this one is still quite young, judging by the short wings.

IMG_6147.jpg
I find the red and black color combination quite fascinating!! He does not even try to blend into the surroundings. Normally colors like this will indicate to predators that he is poisonous.
IMG_6148.jpg
Below you can see a side view of the head and neck area. He has a nice shield for protection around the neck area
IMG_6152.jpg
Just look how he is clinging to the leaf.
IMG_6161.jpg
A closer look from the top!
IMG_6165.jpg
Below you can get a view of him sitting on the spinach leaves. I am sure he will grow up nice and strong when eating all these leaves!!
IMG_6163.jpg

I stay quite close to my friend, but has never seen this type of locust at my home before, but according to my friend he sees them regularly in his garden.

I took these photos with my iPhone, in Pretoria @ my friend's home, in the Gauteng Province of South Africa.

I hope you enjoyed the photos as much as I did taking it.

Sort:  

that is a fine big grasshoper. i would be scared to go nearer

hahaha me too would get scared

Kya hall Hy janb

Yes, he looks quite mean!!

omg incredible insect woahh

Thank you.

Yeah, the colors are matching. This locust is really unique!

Amazing photography

Thank you.

A rare grasshopper, I've seen it before. Thanks for sharing information.

Yikes! That is beautiful but dangerous looking. Black and red have always been scary colours for me.

Agreed, it looks dangerous, but it is harmless to people.

Excellent photos and this kind of locusts, I have not yet seen, amazing color! Thank you @rynow

Yes, I also have not seen many of them!!

The first time I see a black locust, we have a locust only green. Thank you for the interesting post.

We have various colors here in South Africa.

wow this is an incredible insect this looks stunning

Thank you very much.

u have a great picture insects @rynow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40