You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traveling in China Part VII: Relaxing in a tiny river village surrounded by karst mountains - Original Work

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Wow, where do I begin.

  1. The last bamboo raft image with the foreground in focus and background of mountains out. Nice.

  2. Alleyways! I think are always my favorite of yours.

  3. The house with all the wood. Do you know what the Kanji said? I asked my girls and they haven't learned the larger print one yet. They could read one kanji just below it and it said Lao..something. They said it could mean teacher, or mouse, or tiger... so that was no help. The strong red contrast and dark wood was really nice.

  4. The gentlemen preparing the meat. Really nice image with only the window and the one top light source in what seems like a very dark room. Even at ISO 1600 that looked clean.

  5. Finally the first image of him sitting and smoking vs. the first image of him in the door way smoking as a silhouette. For me, it is a tie between those two for your best image.

Cool beans. I resteemed you back. Cheers.

Sort:  

Wow thanks so much @runrudy! That is some awesome feedback man I really appreciate it :) I'm not sure what the Kanji said, didn't even know it was called that actually haha, but I know that they had just been welcomed into the village by the locals and they said that there was a little party at their house a day before to celebrate their being a part of the village now. Thanks so much for your awesome comments and the re-steem!!

Kanji are actually Japanese derivatives from Chinese characters. In Chinese I think it is technically called Hanzi. They are inter-exchangeable. My wife and kids are Japanese so we always call them Kanji. We think maybe the big kanji was a family name? I don't know.

No worries, I love looking at photography. Plus, I enjoy your work and envy your travels. Wish I had done more travel before kids!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65