Traveling in China Part VII: Relaxing in a tiny river village surrounded by karst mountains - Original Work

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

One of the only things that was on Sabrina's absolutely have to do list was an amazing little Airbnb guesthouse that she found online just a day before we left on our trip. She had been looking at the listing as we made our way through China and we decided that it was definitely something we wanted to check out. We contacted the owners and as luck would have it they had a room available for us exactly when we were planning on being in the area.

The village was called Yangdi and it was in the Yongshuo area. To get there we flew from Xi'an to Guilin (our tickets were purchased earlier with the help of the lovely owner of our guesthouse in Pingyao, she was so awesome). Once we arrived in Guilin we took the shuttle into the city, then managed to find our way to the local bus which would take us to the landing area on the river where our guesthouse owners would pick us up in their bamboo river boat.

I have to admit that having never done an Airbnb before I was pretty skeptical, and especially since the owners were very laidback guys who didn't provide too much direction or instructions. I'm glad to say though that everything went totally smooth and according to plan, and before we knew it we were chilling out in a 300 year old family home in some random, isolated little farming village surrounded by the most incredible karst mountains and far away from the rush, buzz and pollution of the cities. It was an incredible place to relax, and one of our absolute highlights from the trip.

Yangdi Village

We didn't get many photos of our travels to the place, but we started getting photos once we arrived in the Yongshuo area as we waited in this little village to be picked up by bamboo boat.

Locals going about their business.

We found a little shop and had a look around, this guy was doing the same :)

We had no idea what he was saying, but it sure seemed this guy was a proud father.

Found this cute little chicken just wandering around the streets.

Finally our guesthouse owner arrived in their bamboo boat.

Leaving the boat launch.

I took this panoramic image of the valley just before we set off down then river.

Arriving to Yangdi Village

We got some awesome shots of the scenery as we traveled up the river towards the village.

The mountains in this area are incredible.

On the bamboo boat.

I was gettin' pretty beardy at this point, Sabrina got this photo of me on the boat.

This was our first sight as we arrived at the village.

After we got up the staircase, this is the main walkway of the village.

These village "streets" were awesome to just wander around and look at.

We arrived at our guesthouse and started settling in.

This is a composite image of the view from the courtyard just outside the front door of the guesthouse.

The house had this amazing carved woodwork all over the place, so cool.

The village has a ton of pomelo farms, we opened one up and the guys and a visiting local fellow peeled off the thick rind and used it as a type of casing to fry up some delicious pork dumplings.

Mincing up some pork.

Frying the delicious dumplings.

A local friend's daughter was hanging out, we shared our snacks with her :)

This is the guy who cooked up the dumplings. He was affectionately known in the village as "Caveman" because he and his brother had deconstructed their house to sell the bricks, and now basically lived in one of the mountain caves. From what the locals told us it wasn't really a case of bad luck, but more that they just didn't want to work and it was easier to sell the bricks from their house than get a job, hahaha, what a guy. He was pretty entertaining.

He noticed me taking his picture and had an idea for a better composition. He pulled me over to the door and gestured for me to get this shot. I can't really take credit for these ones, it was all caveman's idea :)

As per my custom, I just couldn't help but go out exploring.

Crazy old truck by the road I wandered down.

Another composite image, I loved the rock formations in this place.

One more composite stitch of the "main road through town" that I wandered down for a bit.

I was going to include the impromptu photoshoot that we did with the random German couple who were staying at the guesthouse as well, but I figured I would do a dedicated post just for that as this one is already quite long. So stay tuned for what will be the final post from our trip through China, a photoshoot on top of a mountain! From then the travel series will continue as Sabrina and I made our way overland from Naning in southern China to the famous city of Hanoi in northern Vietnam! As always if you like the post feel free to throw me an upvote, you know I always appreciate them! Be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to see the continuing story of our travels around the world, as well as more original content all the time.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

THIS! This is how you tell a story! Being a big traveler myself, I can completely relate with these photos (little moments) that collectively shape your overall experience. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks so much @jabobt, I'm so glad that it resonated with you, it has been a real joy to relive these moments and share them with others! Thanks so much for the kind words :)

Wow, where do I begin.

  1. The last bamboo raft image with the foreground in focus and background of mountains out. Nice.

  2. Alleyways! I think are always my favorite of yours.

  3. The house with all the wood. Do you know what the Kanji said? I asked my girls and they haven't learned the larger print one yet. They could read one kanji just below it and it said Lao..something. They said it could mean teacher, or mouse, or tiger... so that was no help. The strong red contrast and dark wood was really nice.

  4. The gentlemen preparing the meat. Really nice image with only the window and the one top light source in what seems like a very dark room. Even at ISO 1600 that looked clean.

  5. Finally the first image of him sitting and smoking vs. the first image of him in the door way smoking as a silhouette. For me, it is a tie between those two for your best image.

Cool beans. I resteemed you back. Cheers.

Wow thanks so much @runrudy! That is some awesome feedback man I really appreciate it :) I'm not sure what the Kanji said, didn't even know it was called that actually haha, but I know that they had just been welcomed into the village by the locals and they said that there was a little party at their house a day before to celebrate their being a part of the village now. Thanks so much for your awesome comments and the re-steem!!

Kanji are actually Japanese derivatives from Chinese characters. In Chinese I think it is technically called Hanzi. They are inter-exchangeable. My wife and kids are Japanese so we always call them Kanji. We think maybe the big kanji was a family name? I don't know.

No worries, I love looking at photography. Plus, I enjoy your work and envy your travels. Wish I had done more travel before kids!

The Journey is more important than the destination... great photography, thanks for sharing.

I totally agree @originate, thanks so much for the comment! Glad you like the post :)

Amazing photos! It's almost like being there.

Thanks so much @donkeypong, that is such a huge compliment! Im glad you enjoyed them :)

Each photo is like a separate masterpiece in itself:)

Are these digital or film because they look like film to me?

Wow thank you @thecryptofiend :) These are actually all shot on digital but I really like the film look so that was what I was going for in the editing.

Awesome. Maybe you could do a tutorial on how you get that look:)

That's a great idea man :) I'll start working on a post like that!!

way cool pics. I felt like I was on a journey while viewing them. Thanks for sharing - Steem ON

Thank you @gringalicious! I'm so glad you enjoy them, I have been having a great time reliving all these memories through the posts so I'm stoked that you can enjoy the experience as well :)

very good trip ... amazing

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Those photos are stunning. Everyone tells it's own story. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks so much @asshlynncrow! I'm so glad you like them and thank you for the kind words :)

Love the caveman photos!

Thanks @snooway, I'm glad you like them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43