Day 18 of 365 in a Newborn Baby's Life - 1000 Cranes

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is a photo series dedicated to the first year of my daughter's life.

Day 18 of 365: 1000 Cranes

My wife and I were engaged for one year. In that year, she challenged herself to fold one thousand cranes before the wedding. She said it was in Japanese tradition to fold a thousand cranes to be blessed with good luck, health, and a happy marriage. She completed the 1000 all on her own. She didn't want me to fold a single one to help.

We scattered the thousand cranes across all the wedding tables. It was quite beautiful and touching that she went through all that effort for us.

Here are two images from the wedding.

Wikipedia states that cranes 'can also be given to a new baby for long life and good luck. Hanging them in one's home is thought to be a powerfully lucky and benevolent charm.'

Here she is for her daily portrait for future timelapse:

Thanks for following along with us.

Here are the last three previous days in case you missed it.

https://steemit.com/photography/@runrudy/day-17-of-365-in-a-newborn-baby-s-life-lucky-fortune-cookies

https://steemit.com/photography/@runrudy/day-16-of-365-in-a-newborn-baby-s-life-the-griswolds-go-to-the-zoo

https://steemit.com/photography/@runrudy/day-15-of-365-in-a-newborn-baby-s-life-multiplicity

If you liked this:

Upvote / ReSteem to support my work.

Thank you in advance everyone!

Rudy

Late%20Date%20Steem%20Final%203-M.jpg

@runrudy

All images © 2017 Rudy Gonzales. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

So did you guys end up folding 1000 paper cranes? I've heard about that tradition but I've never seen it personally!

Yes, she did complete the 1000. I didn't even fold a single one for her. Took her months to do it.

What, you didn't help out :P

I got off the hook on that one. those things tiny and hard to fold.

Your wife sounds wonderful and talented! All that work! Greetings from north Carolina!

She lets me be me. that is what I love about her.

And that is a BEAUTIFUL thing!!

Cutie Pie😊 may God give her all the luck and happiness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95