Day 17 of 365 in a Newborn Baby's Life - Lucky Fortune Cookies

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is a new photo series dedicated to the first year of my daughter's life.

Day 17 of 365:

If you follow me, you know that lately my blog revolves primarily around my kids. It is getting harder and harder to even remember a time when we didn't have kids.

You might actually be surprised that my wife and I struggled to have kids for a few years after getting married. We were married in 2004 and for three years I just couldn't knock her up.

We tried and tried but for some reason it just never happened. We got all checked out by our doctors and we were both perfectly healthy. We just figured it wasn't our time and that we should just enjoy marriage and travel.

In 2007, we went to Tokyo with friends. We visited all the regular tourist spots including a few Buddhist temples.

The other night, I was going through images from that trip and I found this picture dated April 2007.

It is called an ema. It is basically just a prayer or wish that you write on a wooden plaque. Then leave it at the Shinto shrine in hopes that the spirits grant your request. Wikipedia states that: Common reasons for emas are for success in work or on exams, marital bliss, to have children, and health.

The spirits must have been generous that day because our first daughter was born exactly one year later, April 2008.

Tokyo-Harajuku-Meiji-Shrine-Temple-Torii-Travel-Portrait-2.jpg

Then our second lucky daughter was born only 13 months apart.

Tokyo-Harajuku-Meiji-Shrine-Temple-Torii-Travel-Portrait-1.jpg

Tokyo-Harajuku-Meiji-Shrine-Temple-Ritual-Fountain

And here is our third lucky fortune cookie for her daily portrait for future timelapse:

So, the next time you are at a Japanese Buddhist Temple. Be very careful for what you wish for. :)

Thanks for following along with us.

Here are the last three previous days in case you missed it.

https://steemit.com/photography/@runrudy/day-16-of-365-in-a-newborn-baby-s-life-the-griswolds-go-to-the-zoo

https://steemit.com/photography/@runrudy/day-15-of-365-in-a-newborn-baby-s-life-multiplicity

https://steemit.com/photography/@runrudy/day-14-of-365-in-a-newborn-baby-s-life-super-macro-photography-first-day-of-summer

If you liked this:

Upvote / ReSteem to support my work.

Thank you in advance everyone!

Rudy

Late%20Date%20Steem%20Final%203-M.jpg

@runrudy

All images © 2017 Rudy Gonzales. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Your kids are beautiful!

Thank you. Have a nice evening @mctiller!

Indeed! Great portraits of them too!

Nice post and pictures.

Thank you @team101 to stopping by!

Your children are absolutely lovely. Many blessings to you and yours! ❤️

Thank you@crystalandbones! Have a great day.

your kids are so beautiful.....

Very nice and profesional post!

Well thank you very much @jwolf. I try my best! Thanks for taking the time to comment and check out my blog. Cheers!

Dude this is an amazing idea. I'm going to keep looking out for these. I know what you mean about being careful what you ask for.
I wanted my wife to get drunk that night... well. Now we have kids too. hahaha

Just kidding. Awesome idea, keep up the great work. Sounds like you are a great dad!

Hey @walkingkeyes. I am pretty sure alcohol was part of the equation for a few of these kids in my house. : )

hahaha! I know how you feel. Now I drink for a different reason....

And now you're blessed with 3 kids! Awesome story Rudy! Soon you'll have to update your footer image lol!

BTW, please add me on Steam so we can kick it up in VR, I've got some ideas heheh, just search for Pvt. Snowball.

What's up man. You guessed one of my future images : ) Hey, I will add you on Steam. And dude, do you ever sleep? I saw you like early this AM and you are still online. Dedication!

I go to bed around 12 to 2AM, bad for my health I know lol. But this has been my habit for the past 6 years.

That is so cool Rudy and your daughters are so beautiful life is beautiful with children in them👼👼

Thank you @cecirod1218. Hope you had a good day and nice evening. Cheers!

Cheers my dear friend I had a great day! Except for the lady that squished my flowers did you see that steem I put a couple hours ago? I freaked out

I commented on your blog. what an odd and lame thing to do.

Thank you for taking the time I'll never understand people and I give up trying I'm staying away from her!

Just be a secret agent and pretend to be nice and accommodating. It will probably save you alot of stress down the line.

Your exactly right thank you Rudy😉

Awesome family pics @runrudy, enjoy it because it flies by. And it certainly appears that you're enjoying it!!!

It's all about the journey and climb. I do my best to enjoy these kids. Thanks for taking the time @cognoscere. See ya.

Awww. Such a sweet family. Beautiful kids!

Thank you @snooway. They get it all from their mom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59