Guided Tour through a Ghost Town - my SteemitPhotoChallenge entry!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Here are my three entries to the 3rd Steemit Photo Challenge by @jamtaylor !

Note, for once I'm reusing pictures I took a few months ago and I have already posted here:
https://steemit.com/photography/@r4fken/pictures-of-a-dead-town-a-guided-tour-through-doel-belgium-s-most-controversial-village
I believe I can't do any better, so I hope you will appreciate these even if they're not "new-" new.

There's a great story behind these pictures, but I won't copy it here as I'm afraid to trigger @cheetah. If you want to know, see above link.

The ghost town feels very strange when visiting, so the extra credits for "eerieness" are mine :)

Number 1 : Abandoned by law
Abandoned by law

Number 2: Expropriated
Expropriated

Number 3: Growth through destruction
Growth through destruction

All pictures were taken with a Nexus 6P and unedited. Or maybe cropped with Pixlr, I'm not really sure.
Thanks for considering!

#photography #steemitphotochallenge

Sort:  

i think it would look even more cool without bright colors )

I disagree. It's too "standard" to think of desolation in black-white. I find that the colors add to the eerie feeling, making it alive, while dead at the same time. It also better represents the real life thing, ofcourse :)

I mean not black and white, just less saturated
but they look exciting as is+

Haha, I don't have a clue how to adjust that, I'm just an amateur smartphone-photographer :D

Thumbs up for the ?rat? graffiti.

Yup, that's a rat. Famous in Belgium, btw. Thanks!

picture № 1 is wonderful!!!

Thanks, I agree it's the best one, that's why I made it number one :)

Why did Simba's father die? -Because he couldn't Mufasa!

Nice pictures! I'm new to the photography section of steemit and have a question I hope you answer. How are you getting your pictures to properly display in portrait? I uploaded pics to imgsafe, where they display in portrait view, but once I post the link onto a steemit post the pictures are rotated to a landscape view. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong!

That's weird, it just works here. I have no idea what could be causing that...

Ok thanks for getting back to me. Frustrating because I am just trying my hand at photography and my steemphotochallenge (first post in photography) and it insisted on rotating my portrait shot. Had another pic I'd like to post but it was taken in portrait and keeps rotating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69