Pictures of a Dead Town - a Guided Tour through Doel, Belgium's Most Controversial Village

in #photography8 years ago

A short drive through the most famous "ghost town" of Belgium, Doel. The entire village was expropriated years ago, destined for demolition for a future project that would expand the Port of Antwerp.
Meanwhile, it has attracted grafitti artists as well as art students looking for photogenic subjects to photograph or film.

As for myself, I'm often in the area, as one of Belgium's power plants is located less than a mile from Doel. Whenever I have some time to kill, I go for a drive in the abandoned town. The feeling, or better the atmosphere, is difficult to describe. It's an eerie, unreal stillness, invoking a mix between fear and anguish. It's an incredibly thought-provoking place.

These photographs are my attempt to capture this weird atmosphere in an image. There's however one aspect that I can't seem to portray and you'll just have to imagine while looking at the photos: the overwhelming silence in the ghost town.

Now, here's a small collection.

Thanks for reading!
Any feedback more than welcome in the comments!

Sort:  

Very cool! Are these your photos?

Yes, my own work.

Very interesting - had no idea there was such a place in Belgium. Love the artistic graffiti too

thanks :)

Awesome Pictures man!

Thanks!

Very Cool Photos!!
It seems to be in the Game "The Last of Us".

Thanks :) Don't know that game, but I'll take it as a compliment!

I voted due to the giant picture of a rat on the wall

Thanks!

Thank you! :)

You're welcome!

so great!
love such places

Absolutely, me too!

Thanks. was in Antwerp could of times. The Chinatown there looks only slightly better than your pics.

Haha. Antwerp is nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38