Market Friday, Laurence and Chico Café in Vancouver @dswigle

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Laurence and Chico Café in Vancouver

IMG_6065 (1).jpg

In some places, the walls have ears; at Vancouver's newly-opened Laurence and Chico Cafe, the furniture has eyes. They watch what you eat, so you don't have to. Good thing, you will be far too busy looking about the place.

IMG_6064 (1).jpg

IMG_6048 (1).jpg

My son and I likened the decor to a cross between Alice's Wonderland and Lorax's Forest before it became Thneedville. Seuss and Carroll would have approved; my 8-year-old certainly did. Although, we had to change tables. Let's just say there was some disagreement over who should sit on the throne and who should sit on a foot stool.

IMG_6063 (1).jpg

Fortunately, there were enough thrones to go around to satisfy two drama queens. I took the red one, my son the blue. George R.R. Martin will not be writing my son's version of Mommy Dearest, just yet.

IMG_6066 (1).jpg

Should the place get overrun with Lannisters and/or White Walkers, however, there is always the bar and a couple extra thrones.

IMG_6055 (1).jpg

IMG_6056 (1).jpg

They say you can really judge an establishment based on the throne rooms. Laurence and Chico Café has two. Above is the gents and below, a little less flashy but a whole lot more kitschy, is the dames.

IMG_6057 (1).jpg

I can't tell you where all those lost socks go, but I found the rubber ducky graveyard. It is on the ceiling of the ladies' room. I have pondered and pondered; if there is some symbolic significance to this, it is lost on me.

IMG_6058 (2).jpg

This is Market Friday and so there must indeed be things for sale at Laurence and Chico Café.

IMG_6051 (1).jpg

We settled on some croissants and I had some coffee. Beware the ceramic cacti upon placing the food on the table, and don't get lost in your own reflection off the glint in the iridescent cutlery:)

IMG_6070 (1).jpg

Bon appetite and sweet day dreams:):):)

All photos and words are my own.

Sort:  

I love this place! It is indeed like an Alice in Wonderland! I have never seen a place like that unless it was on a cruise ship!

You really brought out all this the real guns for this one!!!!!!! Simply fabulous!

Upvoted and will resteem later! Tip!

Please leave the link to your post on my comment section so it can easily be found by others. They will all be in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you! ❤

Thanks, Denise:) I think I will run away and join a cruise ship:) Wouldn't that be the life?

Absolutely! :)

Bring your son. They have more fun than the adults.

I came back to check this out again. I definitely want one of these in my town! I want my own crown and throne!

Resteemed.

Oy vey! You are both 2 peas in a pod.

Very nice, I'm sure, but if it's all the same to you, I'll stick with In N Out Burger. ;-)

Burgers have their place in my life too:):):) Thank you:)

Ha! My thoughts exactly!!! I honestly was typing that White Castles is more my speed as I eyed your comment!

Wow, how shocking! Thanks for that psychedelic walk with your keen eye, @prydefoltz. Regards!

WOW what a unique and interesting place thanks for sharing with us

WOW what a unique
And interesting place thanks
For sharing with us

                 - tattoodjay


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This place looks awesome! I think I would spend way too long just gazing around..lol! Thanks for taking so many great photos and sharing them here! Btw..the baked goods look pretty good too! ;)

They say you can really judge an establishment based on the throne rooms. Laurence and Chico Café has two. Above is the gents and below, a little less flashy but a whole lot more kitschy, is the dames.

IMG_6057 (1).jpg

I can't tell you where all those lost socks go, but I found the rubber ducky graveyard. It is on the ceiling of the ladies' room. I have pondered and pondered; if there is some symbolic significance to this, it is lost on me.

Beautiful images, the queens of the drama to the load
to enjoy those unforgettable moments with different thrones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23