Photo Journey Through the Seasons - Wild Blossoms Found in the Boreal Forest. Part 1

in #photography6 years ago

I'm always delighted with the number of wild blooms we have here in the Boreal Forest of Saskatchewan so I decided to share them with my Steemit friends! Enjoy!
JJ on the log by the marsh marigolds.JPG
We have a Black Spruce bog by our place that is full of Marsh Marigolds. My cat JJ likes to come with me for our photo hikes. Isn't he photogenic?
tigerlily and white cluster flower best.JPG
The tiger lily is our provincial flower and adds a beautiful burst of orange to the landscape.
rose with 3 buds closeup beautiful.JPG
The wild roses are plentiful and smell oh so sweet!
3 wild violets.JPG
The wild woodland violet comes early and is a good edible flower to dress up the salads.
close up  false lily of the valley with others behind best.JPG
The false lily of the valley covers the forest floor in the pine meadow creating a beautiful sea of white.
group of harebells closeup good.JPG
The dainty harebells always delight me and they bring to mind fairies - their flowers would make perfect fairy hats!
crocus.jpg
Last we have the crocus - actually it is our first, much a waited for, bloom of the season.
That's it for this first part of the early wild blooms from the boreal Forest. Make sure to stay tuned for part 2 of my Photo Journey Through the Seasons - Wild Blossoms Found in the Boreal Forest where I'll show more photos as the season progresses.

Sort:  

Nice Picture porters ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Thanks for the invite. I'm new here so I'm still trying to figure things out. I joined smartmediagroup on discord and look forward to sharing more of my photos, etc.

Nice photos. Is the cat wild too?

No that's my pet cat JJ. He likes to hang with me out in the forest where we live.

JJ looks like hes happy in that shot! living next to the bog I bet you have some awesome lake shots!

JJ is a happy cat who adopted us and came in from the wild. Actually it is a black spruce bog full of mosses and ferns. In the spring there is standing water which dries up by fall. This brings a succession of blooms through the seasons. We do have a lake at the end of our road which I had wanted to capture it's beauty by painting it, then figured it was much easier to capture it's beauty with photography, especially with the digital cameras.

oh the boreal forest..... i so miss the north and it's conifers and lakes and wildness.

Yes, the boreal forest is my choice of places to live. It is either here or by the ocean. Where is it that you are referring to when you say you miss the north? Did you use to live up north?

I have canoed a lot in northern Minnesota and harvested wild rice there. I also used to live in New Hampshire and Maine. I know this is not actually that far north, but it certainly is more similar forest, and extreme winters.

Yes, I have friends near there and they have very severe winters. Funny, our winters are so severe (people often ask me why I wanted to go up north - it's because I love the forest) but Saskatchewan was voted as one of the best places to live in the world in the summer! Summers are lovely!

I still need to visit Canada. I think I belong in the north. I love cross-country skiing, its my favorite activity ever. I love the snow, and the conifers, the woodstove in winter. I love the mild summers, the lakes. sigh. Hard to believe I'm from Virginia.

Sounds like it's time to come for a visit here in the North country. I particularly love the forested part with all the lakes. That is what drew me to live up here. That and the people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67