Dexter doesn’t…

in #photography6 years ago

the_day_after.jpg

…love New Year’s Eve…
Well, in fact, that’s not entirely true. He loves to party… but he really hates the day after 😉
I hope you don’t feel like him right now!

You liked this post?

Right you are 😉
Just follow me here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) to make sure you don’t miss any new work. BTW: I will not ask you to upvote… deep down inside you know you have to 😉

Curious to see my other work?

Although I spent most of my time on steemit, you can also find me in other places… just take your pick…

steemit_500px.pngsteemit_ello.pngsteemit_facebook.pngsteemit_google.pngsteemit_insta.pngsteemit_pixelfan.pngsteemit_steemiandir.png

steemitboard.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

He needs the hair of the dog that bit him :-) !tip

nobody (can) bit him... he's Dexter, the serial killer ;-)

🎁 Hi @pixelfan! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @kunschj!

@kunschj wrote lately about: New Year'S Day At The Beach Feel free to follow @kunschj if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

He doesn't feel like that ;-)

Great photographic composition. Dexter looks rather a bit like our schnoodle. :D

Gizmo Portrait.jpg

hahaha... yes, I clearly see some family resemblance :-)
PS: Dexter just told me he has an american cousin ;-)

Ha! Gizmo didn’t say… LOL

Is Dexter a schnoodle?

We honestly don't know...
They have sold him to us as a Maltese but... he is to big to be one. He also needed surgery 2 weeks after we bought him...
We think the poor guy is the result of "mass production" in Poland that are sold in Belgium.
But: he's my/our best friend... so we're happy to have him in our family!

Yeah, it’s an outrage the way humans treat animals in the pets-for-profit industries. Our Gizmo is a rescue from a puppy-mill here. There were several puppy-mill raids by the authorities seven or eight years ago and he was rescued in one of those raids. His mother and sire, plus all but him and one other pup in the litter had to be put down – more than half the animals from that facility were put down. The particular puppy-mill was specifically a schnoodle-mill. I believe the mother was a cast-off poodle (not deemed well-heeled enough for the bloodline commercial breeding) and the father was a castoff schnauzer. The schnoodle mix is a popular one in the States because both breeds are hypoallergenic, and the personalities seem to be calm and affectionate. They’re very companionable dogs, bred purely for pets – the breed isn’t recognized as a certified and papered show breed.

Full size poodles were on our short list of hypoallergenic dogs because there are several poodle rescue and rehab centers in our region. I thought they’d make a good fit because of their natural hypoallergenic nature and their companionable personalities. Unfortunately for poodles, they are also kind of attention hogs – they rather demand companionship and affection. Our son is allergic to most dogs. He’s an only child and, himself, kind of an attention hog. Anyway, we were checking foster and rescue centers and happened upon the foster caregiver for Gizmo. It was immediately apparent that he was the perfect fit for our family. And, since schnauzers were on my list of hypoallergenic dogs, I knew the schnauzer-poodle mix was going to work as well as a full poodle. My son, in all the profiles we looked at, kept gravitating to smaller dogs, so Gizmo, as a toy schnoodle, was perfect.

He really is the best little dog. I was never a small dog kind of person – can’t stand those yip-yip dogs. But, Gizmo won me over. He’s not a barker and he’s extremely companionable and very affectionate, and so well behaved and obedient. He’s actually become a bit of a comfort animal for me since my health went into decline a couple of years ago. He’s been an especially great comfort for me this past year that I’ve been so very ill. We have noticed, this winter, though, that he’s starting to show his age and having some joint stiffness. He’s around eight years old now – not young for a dog. And these little dogs tend to have joint issues as they age. I think it’s all the jumping up and down from elevations like furniture and beds; that must be hard on the bones and joints. Also, these puppy-mill dogs are very poorly treated in their most critical developmental period; that must have an adverse effect sooner or later.

I’m just glad we found him and are able to give him so much love and all the companionship he could want.

We hebben allemaal last the day after 🥳😂

nee hoor... bij mij is dat de "week after" ;-)

Poor Dexter... Yes, I feel like that but not from partying! Cathy and I both have a bit of the flu. I won't look in the mirror, but if I did, this is what I might look like today ;) U+R

I didn't know you had that much hair ;-)

Haven't shaved in a week, so yeah... I kinda do! :)

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of January 3 2019! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59