There was a time…

in #photography6 years ago

plantin_living.jpg

Yesterday I showed you one of the workshops of Plantin & Moretus, a famous family known for their book printing.
And this is a shot from the private part of the house… as you can see, print-on-demand can make you rich 😊

You liked this post?

Right you are 😉
Just follow me here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) to make sure you don’t miss any new work. BTW: I will not ask you to upvote… deep down inside you know you have to 😉

Curious to see my other work?

Although I spent most of my time on steemit, you can also find me in other places… just take your pick…

steemit_500px.pngsteemit_ello.pngsteemit_facebook.pngsteemit_google.pngsteemit_insta.pngsteemit_pixelfan.pngsteemit_steemiandir.png

Sort:  

That's a beautiful photo! I used to work in a printing company years ago and thought I recognized some of those items in your last photo. 😊 The company was Avalon Hill/Monarch and they printed games (mostly war games), magazines, small books and art prints just to name a few. 😉

An inspiring/creative environment... what was your job exactly?

I worked in the bindery, mailroom and subscription office. Folding, collating, stitching, packing and more. When they closed the printing business, they kept one of the magazines and I went full time in subscriptions and mailing. The editor eventually bought that magazine and I continued with the new owner. The printing company also owned and printed games and magazines including The General and Girl's Life. The General ended when the printing company closed/sold. We only printed the first two issues of Girls's Life then farmed it out to be printed at larger printing companies. The original company had quite the mix of older and newer machines. They would probably all be considered really old now..like me! 😉

That looks exactly like my house....
...except I have slightly different furniture.
no chandelier, of course.
and the walls, well, and the ceiling is about half as tall.
and the room is about a quarter the size...
... but almost exactly the same!

hahahaha... so, in fact, you're a mini Flemish primitive :-)

Buenos días amigo @pixelfan deseándole que se encuentre bien , muy linda esa imagen de esa casa de impresión . Saludos y que tenga un buen día.

Wow. It's so luxurious! Marvellous shot! 😎

That’s a great pic of a nice spacious room. I know it was the “chic” of the day – and that a lot of folks still love this style – but the decor is rather ornate and dark for my tastes. :D

you can still open the curtains ;-)

Congratulations @pixelfan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You took the shot yourself?

Cool!

I will not ask you to upvote… deep down inside you know you have to 😉

😂 😂 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79