You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photofeedback on an old picture I shot myself!

Wow! @photofeedback, you really do a total exegesis on a photo. This clearly reflects your expertise. I on the other hand prefer to post unedited original photos. I follow a simple system and it has stood me well through the years. It is called (Raw) That being said, I think you can deliver a valuable service to steemit members that have an interest in professional photography, especially the new members. Yoy should find a way to advertise your services! Blessings, Stephen.

Sort:  

If you make absolutely no changes in Raw, and leave your images exactly as the camera depicted them, then you are not editing. Lol! The camera is just a tool, so I don't allow my tool to make the decisions for me. I do adjust in RAW and also in Photoshop. It's basically the same as I used to do in the darkroom over 25 years ago. There is no such thing as an unedited photo. An unedited photo is what a point and shoot takes. 😊

Sorry, I didn't mean I use a program called RAW, I meant that I use no programs. We are a charity and I don't have the funds to buy any of the editing programs. So what you see is what you get! Blessings.

Ah, so you are shooting jpegs! That means the camera has done all the editing for you by throwing away pixels some calculation decides you don't need. When you shoot using RAW, you tell the camera to save every pixel that is recorded, and then YOU make the decision about which pixels to dispose of!

The only editing program I use and promote is all free.

In Darktable you can edit photos like a professional, and you don't have to pay anything. It also works on all major operating systems.

Also...

Be careful when using the term "raw" when talking about photography, because that term already has an established meaning, as it means the RAW format that cameras produce, a sort of digital negative of the photograph that carries all the information the camera sensor sees when shooting the photo.

These "negatives" will always have to be edited and much of that information discarded, before they can be published. So if you say "raw" when talking about photography, all photographers will automatically assume you mean RAW the picture format instead of anything else.

Thanks a lot for your detailed response @papilloncharity! I like unedited photos too, especially when shot with older cameras to give it a vintage look.
I really appreciate your commentand you give me motivation to continue on this journey.

Bless

:-). Vintage photos are heavily edited! There is no such thing as a straight out of the camera unedited image. That's a common myth. The results you see depend on many, many different factors. In the darkroom we would dodge and burn (that's where the Photoshop term came from), and I could get dozens (probably hundreds) of different results depending on the time the paper was in the developer, which developer I used, which paper I used, whether i decided to raise or lower the enlarger head etc. etc. There were many different printing methods too - all of which gave its own edited style. LOL! If you simply took your roll of film to the drug store to get it developed, an automated machine made all those decisions for you, but it the result was never because if the way the image came out of the camera! :-)

Such a great reply again @dmcamera! I can only bow down for your expertise, it's amazing. I would love to have worked with old school film. 'Dodge and burn' nowadays in Lighroom is so different haha!

I can still smell those chemicals yet! LOL!

I just finished my third review by the way! Please drop by and tell me what you think @dmcamera :)

You did a good job as I mentioned over there. You said why the image worked for you, and you gave some encouraging suggestions for changes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42