You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photofeedback on an old picture I shot myself!

in #photography7 years ago

If you make absolutely no changes in Raw, and leave your images exactly as the camera depicted them, then you are not editing. Lol! The camera is just a tool, so I don't allow my tool to make the decisions for me. I do adjust in RAW and also in Photoshop. It's basically the same as I used to do in the darkroom over 25 years ago. There is no such thing as an unedited photo. An unedited photo is what a point and shoot takes. 😊

Sort:  

Sorry, I didn't mean I use a program called RAW, I meant that I use no programs. We are a charity and I don't have the funds to buy any of the editing programs. So what you see is what you get! Blessings.

Ah, so you are shooting jpegs! That means the camera has done all the editing for you by throwing away pixels some calculation decides you don't need. When you shoot using RAW, you tell the camera to save every pixel that is recorded, and then YOU make the decision about which pixels to dispose of!

The only editing program I use and promote is all free.

In Darktable you can edit photos like a professional, and you don't have to pay anything. It also works on all major operating systems.

Also...

Be careful when using the term "raw" when talking about photography, because that term already has an established meaning, as it means the RAW format that cameras produce, a sort of digital negative of the photograph that carries all the information the camera sensor sees when shooting the photo.

These "negatives" will always have to be edited and much of that information discarded, before they can be published. So if you say "raw" when talking about photography, all photographers will automatically assume you mean RAW the picture format instead of anything else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43