CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - COPPERHEAD

in #photography7 years ago

Finally, a venomous snake!


@papa-pepper has pretty much been interacting with snakes for his entire life. However, I never met any of the venomous ones up in Wisconsin where I grew up. There are two species of venomous snakes that are indigenous to Wisconsin, but they both have rattles, and I never found any of them.

Last year in Arkansas, though, I began to encounter some species of venomous snakes. The Copperhead, as pictured here, was the first. Having a certain respect for and understanding of snakes in general, the transition to interaction with venomous snakes was not that difficult for me. It certainly is a sobering adventure with real risks involved, but since I am aware of the risks and comfortable with the possible outcomes, I do not hesitate to check these snakes out on a closer level.

As you can see from the photos above, the camouflage of the Copperhead is quite remarkable. When you combine this with their nocturnal tendencies, they can pose a certain threat to humans and animals alike. Often, I relocate venomous snakes these days. Technically, it is illegal to kill them in Arkansas unless it is a life or death situation, so I prefer to move them to a safer location, for them and for us.

I’ll share more about this incredible creature later, as I’m trying to keep this one basically a “photo post.” Enjoy the images!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proofs:

Which one do you like better?



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Ok. Dude we gotta talk...A copperhead! Your FACE next to a copperhead?! I live in TN and warn my kids about these all the time. You are too much! I am sweating just from looking at those pictures. Resteemed.

Yeah, I warn my kids too! LOL!

Awesome pipictures i dont like getting bit by my ball pythons, i dont have the guts to mess with anything venomous lol

Thanks for the great post and photos! I'm always fascinated by snakes, I used to see copperheads when I lived in north Georgia every now and then. I've always wanted to see an indigo in the wild but never been lucky enough. One day we helped some folks at the Orianne Society who are working to breed and release more into the wild!

I've always wanted to meet an Indigo in the wild too! Maybe one day!

I fell the same way as lexikon082, I live in alabama and we have a over abundance of cotton mouth snakes. A week or so ago my 14 year old son had to call the police (no animal controll in the city we live in) to remove one fron our back deck. Cool pictures. I would include a picture of the officer removing the snake... but i dont know how.

If I was closer, you could just call me. I love that stuff.


Once I got a call and was able to remove over 50 snakes from a property!!!


https://steemit.com/adventure/@papa-pepper/time-to-call-papa-pepper-an-infestation-of-snakes

You seem alot mor comfortable with them than the officer did

Yeah, probably because I'm not a trained professional.

I'm a noobie here on steemit, and I saw you originally on youtube, then came across your post here as I was looking though photography posts.

Being a recent resident of Tennessee I'm very familiar with the various venomous snakes in the area. fortunately I haven't run into any of them yet in either my photography or metal detecting outings.

Nice images, by the way. What gear do you use?

A CANON VIXIA HF500... I think.

Please relocate each and every Copperhead at least 20 miles away from your home before we come to visit. Thanks Son.

Maybe you employ the use of a snake-relocating drone.

Thank is a good idea. Maybe Mark could make one for me!

20 miles???? You do realize that takes at least an hour worth of driving here in the Ozarks, don't you?

As we have now learned to say, "As the crow flies, you are already there, but it's about a three hour drive..."

Usually snakes left alone, leave you alone. Accidentally stepping on a copperhead, barefoot in the yard is serious business, but they're not nearly as mean as a rattler or a cottonmouth. Poke a cottonmouth with a stick and he might chase you down.

Loading...

I like them better this way
snake-meat.jpg

Awesome post @papa-pepper...& please be careful handling those "slicksters" lol

I will! So far so good!

Wow! Great pictures. Maybe we'll get a chance to eat a copperhead in one of the upcoming Steem-pocalypse games. If so, I'll remember what this little fellow looks like.

There you go! You've read my mind... but, of course, what would happen if you ate a venomous snake?...

Ah, I think we will have to wait until the proper time for that answer. Don't want to give any clues to future participants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34