A Different Fish is a Metaphor - Photographic Reflections NYC

in #photography7 years ago

Central Park NYC

I was walking through Central Park one day, passing the ponds and I looked down. There were lots of very small fish just under the surface; a brownish colour. They were well camouflaged against the pond but there was this one little white one and it was right on the surface, almost as if it was like yeah, you can see me, I stick out, come try and eat me, I'm too fast. I wondered how long it would last before a bird (or turtle) saw it and gobbled it up. Then I remembered I'm in Central Park. This is New York. That little fish summed up the attitude of the City for me. It's probably opened up a vintage clothes store in Hells Kitchen and has all the other fish working for it. Sometimes I feel like the little light fish in the big dark pond and I remember, if you stick out, you might get eaten but hey at least they'll notice you. The metaphor is not about appearance. I am as ordinary looking as the next person. It's the attitude that counts.

61021635564 - a different fish.jpg

Can you See it

Here's the fishes nemesis. But can you see it? It's a weird image for me. Someting so natural, so ancient in a manufactured version of nature, looking up at the bizarrre structures emerged from the ground like some enormous termite mounds. (If it had some imagination, I'm sure that's what it would be thinking.) I'll give you a clue, it's alive and it's near the front of the image.

60349508729 - basking turtle central park.jpg

The Engineers Gate - Central Park

9990770297 - new york city engineers gate central park 5th.jpg

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Hahaha... Yeah I can see him now, he's got a squad of mafia hit fish in the back of that clothing store! LOL And with a thick Italian accent, he says... "Payup or you'll be swimmin wit my cusins in the East River!"

Have a great night. :-)

thanks @inthenow. He's a right little tough guy. did you find the turtle ? Cheers:)

Good post... and yes indeed I did sitting up on the rock, although I need my glasses checked LOL Took quite a few to find him actually.

I often wonder what it was thinking !! if anything about the tall buildings

Hmm. Most likely he was thinking... is it time for a snack, or continue sunning myself? As for the tall buildings, he is probably thinking.. that looks like a great place to explore.

Have a good night. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78