Gateways to the world

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

On our recent trip to Lisbon, I was struck by the variety of shapes and colours surrounding us with each step we took. From the mosaic pavement at our feet, to the dramatic yet remarkable architecture above us, the bright graffiti and tags bringing a new life to the almost collapsing walls, this city is bound to fill any soul who dares to take the time to observe.

In my travels throughout the world, I have accumulated an unbelievable amount of photos of doors and windows. Yes, you read correctly, DOORS AND WINDOWS!! If you find beauty in something as simple and mundane as a door, then carry on. If not, move on to the next post as this may well be one of the most boring you have seen so far:)

“There are so many doors to open. I am impatient to begin." - Charlie Gordan

So without further ado, please come in!

Doors1.jpg

A patchwork of colours and shapes in Lisbon, Portugal.

Doors2.jpg



Now let's see what doors, gates, and entrance-ways look like in the rest of the world.

We begin our little tour on the continent where I was born: EUROPE. More precisely in the country of France.

France1.jpg

Closed double-door entrance to a small church in Burgundy, France. And below are the famous "Arcades" of Rivoli street which extend to infinity, in Paris.

Paris.jpg



Next up: Greece

Grece1_edited.jpg

I found this tiny door on the island of Amorgos, in the Cyclades - a beautiful island shaped like a seahorse.

Greece_edited.jpg

A gate protecting the entrance to a farmer's parcel. Looks like it's had a good run!




**

Door found on the island of Santorini.

**


**

The intricate designs within the structure of the door are made of wrought iron.

**




Below is an iron gate adorning love locks, on what remains of the Berlin Wall, Germany.

Berlin3.jpg



Now let's head South to Italy, and more precisely Naples, or Napoli for Italians. The doors, the street art, and general atmosphere of Lisbon reminded me a lot of Naples. You will often see doors and nearby walls fall victim of "tagging wars" in both cities which, I find, adds extra charm and energy to a somewhat "boring old door".


FotoJet (52).jpg

Napoli3.jpg


Side entrance to a church located in the center of Naples. Looking at the planks, rust, moss, and general state of decrepitude, I'd say this one has seen better days. Does anyone know what SMV stands for?



Christ Church Cathedral in Dublin, Ireland.

Dublin6.JPG



Now, let's switch continents and travel a little further East to ASIA.

Nepal).jpg

Doors in Nepal are most often made of wood, painted in bright colours, and generally have a hard time combating the elements (sun, rain, dust, pollution, adolescent door slammers...)

Nepal3.jpg

Main entrance door to a Buddhist temple in Kathmandu.

Nepal8.jpg



We then continue further East to Shanghai, China, where lazy postmen often use doors directly as mailboxes. Hey, if it fits, why not?

Shanghai.jpg




**

This is the entrance door to a temple located in the beautiful Bamboo Forest in Hangzhou, China.

**


**

The calligraphy inscriptions around the frame welcome visitors and devotees with blessings

**


Hangzhou.jpg

Doorway in Xixi wetland park, Hangzhou.

Forbidden city4.jpg

Above: doorway in Beijing's Forbidden City

Beijing2.jpg

Below: Gateway entrance to a private garden located in the grounds of the Imperial summer palace in Chengde, China - former summer capital of the Qing dynasty.

Chengde5.jpg

A door may represent many things. The beginning. The end. A new adventure. Or simply home. But behind every door, there is always a story...



All photos in this post were taken with my CANON EOS 500D, Samsung Galaxy S4, and SONY Xperia Z3 over the last 4 years.

If you like doors and windows as much as I do, check out what this guy does:
https://www.andrevicentegoncalves.com/portfolio/
He's my hero :) (and Portuguese... which might explain why he was so inspired to start such a project)

Also, have a look at these beautiful and somewhat peculiar door decorations around the world:
https://www.demilked.com/door-decorations-exterior-design-art/
Bound to fill your mind with millions of new creative ideas.

If you liked this post, please don't hesitate to leave comments, share ideas, upvote/resteem. I love to hear from all of you!

To check out some of my previous posts, click on the links below:


Impressions of HONG KONG - Part 3

HONG KONG - through my lens

Impressions of HONG KONG 5

Autumn in Burgundy


“Learning is not a race for information, it is a walk of discovery” - Jane Healy

osmosis small2followme.png

Sort:  

awesome! Thank you to share with us your photos and experiences 🙏🏻 we’re Steemer

Thanks. I'm steemette.

Wow they are impressive gate of soul, the beauty as always is in the eye of the beholder 😍 Love them. I have a red door to my church nearby and always remember when I pass by to make funny connections :)

A church with a red door? That's original.. Send me a photo when you can. I'd love to see.

Amazing photos! Resteemed!

Thank you so much! 😊

Outstanding shots. Let me tell you my poetry way

"She had nothing
everyone left her ...
magical door
changed her fate
he knocked on the door."

Thanks Margaret. Lovely poem 😍
Was it directly inspired by my post? If so, that was quick!

Yes my dear, I was inspired by your post. :) I love all of the door which you posted here and for each of them I have different feelings ;)))

Ooh this is an impressive and beautiful collection ! Do you know there is a tag under which you can post them ? it is #distinctivedoors ;-)

Another thing...I do not have forgotten :

Joyeux anniversaire !

channiversaire.png

and discover here who has won the hedgehug ...and if it's not you, the opportunity to get another free art giveaway ^_^

Un grand MERCI Barbara! Ca me fait vraiment plaisir.
Yes, I remember reading about distinctivedoors but isn't the tag outdated now? Are people still using it?
I'm off to check out your new post. Hugs sent your way 😍

fantastic photos and choices of doorways! this strikes a chord in me since I'm a huge fan of doorways.....even as a teenager in the 1980s I used to photograph beautiful doors every time I saw one. Love this post, thank you for the rich and dreamy eye-candy.

You are so welcome. Thank you for your comment and upvote @natureofbeing. I had no idea so many of you also liked doors!

J'adore j'adore J'ADOOORE ce post !!!!! (un peu en rétard,mais voilà! Mon 100% all yours!!!!)

Merci merci MERCIIIIIIIIIIIIII

Wow this is so beautiful!! I'm a fan of doors too! Have lots of Dutch doors with me. They seem so magical, like in the other side any one these we would find a wonderland. Love it!
Cheers

That's exactly it Bianca! Wondering what secrets hide behind is also part of the beauty of doors.
I'd love to create a "communal post" where everyone from their country sends me a photo of a peculiar-looking door, then we vote for the best ones, one for each country, and create a massive collage.
So bummed i didnt get to hang out with you and Mark more during Steemfest by the way. I wanted to talk to you so much more :(

Love the pictures. I noticed the windows and doors during my trip to Venice and didn't take enough photos of them. Glad you were able to share these with us.

Oh don't get me started on Venice! I'd have to start yet another "series" with all the doors and windows I photographed there. Did you also notice the door knockers there? So much to see... Absolutely love that city.

Yes I did. I loved the variety and wished I could have spent more time there.

Wow! You weren't kidding :) Jim Morrison would be jealous ;)

hehe... nice one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59972.21
ETH 2389.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42