Weird Tree with Wounds in the Park

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Well, I call it the "Weird Tree", or I would if I spoke English in daily life. I actually call it "rare boom".

It is a monkey puzzle tree aka monkey tail tree (Araucaria araucana), apenboom or slangenden in Dutch, that stands in the park across the street from my house.

This photo shows either a female cone, or a bud with new leaves, or needles, or whatever the proper name is for these triangular spikes:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/250s

On many branches, it had these wounds, oozing resin:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 240mm, ISO200, f4, 1/320s

I have no idea what causes this; they could be the marks left by cones that fell off, but I am open to better suggestions.

As you can tell, I know little about this tree; it is not native here. These trees hail from from South America.

Meanwhile, another import, a rhododendron, was showing its first flowers of the season:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 240mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/500s

Available soon in many more colours.

That's all from the park for now; thanks for watching!

Sort:  

I've never seen a tree like that, great patterns of the leaves! Perhaps its name comes from it being a difficult one for a monkey to climb!

It does, actually, I just looked that up:

"Sir William Molesworth, the proud owner of a young specimen at Pencarrow garden near Bodmin in Cornwall, was showing it to a group of friends, one of them – the noted barrister and Benthamist Charles Austin – remarked, "It would puzzle a monkey to climb that". As the species had no existing popular name, first "monkey puzzler", then "monkey puzzle" stuck."

Wonderful photographs of the monkey puzzle tree @ocrdu. That wound is weird as you say. It doesn't make sense that it's caused by the cone falling off does it? That would be a pretty poor design my Mother Nature.

Hopefully, our rhododendrons will be in bloom soon. We have lots of them in our local parks.

have a lovely weekend! 😊

I got that weird tree in the middle of my backyard
I often get poked by those damn needles
they hurt a lot!

did you climb to get a shot of that ball of sprout or is that a flower?
the sap is flammable imho
the tree does that - just crack open and cry hahaha

anyway great shots!

Thank you. No, I didn't climb it, it looked far too sharp all over 8-).

I'm not sure if it is a female cone or a leaf bud opening up. So yours also has these strange "wounds"? I wonder what the point of them is.

oh yes that would hurt and be sticky indeed

yes, it's always crying - all four seasons specially on sunny days

Awesome photography first time we see the plants its amazing
I like plant
Kept it up

Beautiful plant. You took the best spot of it. So natural

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 08:40:26
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 882.92/1600.00
Total Photos: 125
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very nice flower, I like your photography, but alas, it seems that the stem is rotten.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86