They're back 3: back with a vengeance

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

On my walk in the forest yesterday I noticed the mushrooms were doing even better than before. All the ones I posted about earlier were there, in even greater numbers, plus some new ones.

These matchstick-sized ones are called candlestick fungus (Xylaria hypoxylon):


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO100, f8, 1.3s

This one looks like it is partially made out of quartz:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO100, f8, 0.6s

These two had just popped up above the level of the fallen leaves:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO100, f5, 25s

You can see the year rings on this one:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO100, f8, 1.6s

This 20cm (8") one was growing on a dead birch trunk lying on the forest floor:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO100, f8, 4s

I don't know what this is, it looks like a piece of brain to me, but I can be overly ghoulish at times:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO100, f8, 13s

More when I see them!

Sort:  

@ocrdu not only that I love your macro shots of these fungi but also the fact that you did your homework finding out what they're called.
Kudos man :)

Thanks! I never seem to find the names of all of them though.

"I don't know what this is, it looks like a piece of brain to me, but I can be overly ghoulish at times" LOL
These are really cool! Yesterday I learned Amanita caesarea comes out of an "egg" and today I see your top notch specimens. I'd say the start of a good weeked :D

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37