Moths: Rosy Footman

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Starting a new series with the pretty little rosy footman (Miltochrista miniata), rozenblaadje in Dutch ("rose petal"). They fly from June to September and are most often seen singly on sandy soils in forests and on moors.

They have a wingspan of only 25mm (1") but their colour makes them easy to spot. Their caterpillars are less easy to find, as they feed on lichen in trees and refuse to come down.

These moths are on the Red List as "vulnerable" in The Netherlands; I do see less and less of them, and there were few to begin with.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f8, 1/60s


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO400, f3.5, 1/250s

And you thought all moths had drab colours and were only active at night? Think again 8-).

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Wow that's awesome I love it!

That's a beautiful moth! I don't recall ever seeing one in Britain.

"It occurs in woodland habitat in the southern half of Britain, but is commonest in the southern seaboard counties. Flying in July and August, the adults are attracted to light." It doesn't say how rare it is, but they should be there somewhere 8-).

Nice picture...

Beautiful photo
I enjoy your post

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Oh I just know if there is an interesting color moth and can be found during the day. thank you for sharing this knowledge.
@syafiqali

so pretty. I like it very much

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 11:27:32
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 362.92/400.00
Total Photos: 50
Total comments: 33
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow those definitely aren't drab colours on these moths!

Great snaps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31