More snow photos from the Lonnekerberg forest

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Here is the last set of snow photos I took on our Sunday walk on the Lonnekerberg, as promised in my post yesterday. If you like skipping things, skip to the last photo!

As usual, we parked by the lake. The ice had partially melted before the snow fell, giving some nice, fluid shapes:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO200, f8, 1/50s

This little pole marked the beginning of the path:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 300mm, ISO200, f4, 1/60s

You can tell from the previous photo it was about 00C, and the snow was just starting to melt. Somehow, it survived better on the firs than on the other trees:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 65mm, ISO200, f4, 1/50s

As the sun went lower the tree tops were lit up very nicely:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 42mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/125s

As you can tell from this photo with the deer tracks I posted yesterday, it was a very clear day:

It didn't stay clear though; just before sunset we saw a strange mist over the snow fields that seemed to rise from nowhere:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 120mm, ISO200, f8, 1/125s

I tried to look up what is was, and my best guess is that this type of mist is called advection fog and happens when moist, warmer air passes over a cool surface like a snow-pack.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 240mm, ISO200, f8, 1/250s

I decided to wait near the car for the sun to set, to see what that would look like with this snow mist going on, and I wasn't disappointed:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 65mm, ISO200, f8, 1/125s

Well worth the cold fingers!

Yesterday's snow photos.

Sort:  

Some beautiful photographs. That mist adds a nice touch. Looks like it was a very fun excursion.

It was! But I sometimes wish for a really big camera I can operate with gloves on.

Thank you for posting @ocrdu.

Lovely photographs.....the mist is especially atmospheric...lending an etheral quality. Quite elusive to work with...these are well done.

awh! These are Beautiful! :) thanx for sharing, waiting for more :D

Thank you!

@ocrdu the last picture!
Oh migosh!
That's jawdropping!
Perfect shot!

Thanks! Pretty sight, no? I'm glad I waited for it.
Only $0.28 though. I don't mind that much, but it is weird to see how my photos I think are so-so do better than my photos I really like.

@ocrdu ik weet niet wat ik zeggen moet
maar nooit zuren werkt nooit
gewoon - laat maar gewoon -
ik begrijp je wel maar soms gebeurt dat ook bij mij ik laat het ook maar gewoon en denken gewoon aan wat ik echt wil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33