Butterflies: Swallowtail

in #photography7 years ago

Three butterfly postings in one day? Well, yes, just trying to break this bloody cat monopoly. Cats kill butterflies for no good reason, did you know that? Not so cute now, are they?

This is a posting about butterflies without a photo of a butterfly, a unique moment in the history of Steemit.

It is about the swallowtail (Papilio machaon), koninginnenpage in Dutch, and I have never seen one. Sounds like a boring post coming up, but bear with me.

They have become rare here in The Netherlands, but I do know they are still around, because I managed to get a photo of the caterpillar, which is impressive enough by itself to warrant a posting.

At about 5cm (2") in length, and brightly coloured, it is quite a thing to see:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 28mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/80s

This one is sitting on a carrot top, which they are wont to do.

The butterfly itself is also very pretty; fortunately, @adrianobalan posted photos of it a few days ago, so you can go there to have a look at it.

Thanks for watching!

Previous in series: Ringlet.

Sort:  

Just wanted to let you know I'll continue working on Black and Silver first thing in the morning.

So, it's not dead. Just did some gaming stuff in the meantime.

I noticed. Stop gaming and write. Youth these days ...

Ulat nya keren

Very pretty! That's a great shot. Thanks for sharing with us!

You are most welcome.

Beautiful :)

Ohh my God...a caterpillar with beautiful colors...congrats my friend...it is hard thing to find these species...an excellent macro shot...!

Have a nice weekend...:)

Thanks, and you too!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Caterpillars are displayed is beautiful, what if he has changed so the butterflies must be more beautiful in my opinion.

The caterpillar is so fat and really cute.. it has to be a Beautiful buttetfly soon..

Like a military strip in a green forest

That is one cool looking caterpillar! I've seen the swallowtail (Svalestjert in Norwegian) around here where I live, but it's not the most common sight. Great shot as always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51