Another old French car in the wild

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I spotted this old Renault 4, Renault's answer to the Citroën 2CV. It has a tiny 4-cylinder engine and a 4-speed manual gearbox, and no luxuries at all.


Olympus Stylus 1s, 55mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/60

Not nearly as glamorous as this car, but it will carry 4 people and their luggage and it has a surprisingly comfortable ride.

I was quite popular; 8 million were produced between 1961 and 1993, with only minor modifications, but it never reached the cult status of the Citroën 2CV.

I don't know if any made it to the USA, it's small by European standards, so it's probably tiny by American standards. Also, its fuel consumption is far too low to be taken seriously in the colonies.

Previous car in the wild: A Citroën.

Sort:  

@ocrdu - renault fan here, they're cars are very safe but affordable these days.
heb je viand gemaakt? waarom is heeft dit post een vlag gekrijgen?

Er was iemand boos omdat ik postings van hem met gejatte foto's had gevlagd. Ik lig er niet wakker van 8-).

@ocrdu ah zo - daarom gebruik ik de vlag nooit - het is wel verwarrend - maar goed - het is al gebeurt maar het is wel onjuist om dit te vlaggen vooral dat die foto hier niet gejaat is - nou, als hij jou volgt dan is het een troll dat mag hier niet mag je naar de politie hier vertellen - een beetje kinderachtig soms, voorzichtig met vlaggen - veel success!

my first car - I loved it: small is beautiful

I like them too. I never owned one, but I often got picked up as a hitch-hiker in France by one of these.

I don't think you have a good reason for flagging this post, @mazdakht2016.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50