NSPART - Been scanning in my Instax & Polaroids Again After a Bad Hard Drive Crash. (NSFW - Artistic Full Nudity)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

So I had a bad hard drive crash a few months back where I lost a lot of my work, the drive is sitting waiting until I can spend $1000 to get the data recovered from a lab if it's even possible. I plan to get a Mirrored Raid Drive in the future so I never have to go through that again. Sadly though I did lose a lot of work I can never get back, because all of my Polaroid & Instax Scans were on it.

I take Instax and Polaroids on most of my shoots and then sell those off separately to collectors. I scan everything not only to show it but so I can keep a copy and use it for other purposes. So, when I lost my scans I lost the images. I have been re-scanning all of my Polaroids & Instax pictures for the last few days (The images I didn't sell or had not tried to sell yet.) and I'm still scanning right now.

The thing about Instax & Polaroids is that they are fun to shoot, harder to actually shoot than digital, cost more to shoot, and have all of the other drawbacks of film. But I think it's a great tool to use to hone In-Camera photography skills as it still gives almost instant feedback but you have to get it right in the camera and can't rely on Photoshop or Lightroom to fix or improve the photos.

The Polaroids are shot with an Old Polaroid 600 Camera on Impossible Project Film and The Instax are Fuji Instax Wide Film Shot on a Fuji 210.

Now remember these are supposed to be kinda cheesy, fun, naughty, playful and dirty sometimes. It's very different from my normal work and style, which is why it's fun to shoot sometimes. The people that buy them and collect them, like the raw amateur look some times rather the more polished retouched look. This is why Art is subjective and based on taste.

Some of the reasons people collect these is that, they are physical, a connection to a much simpler time, real with no photoshop, are one of a kind photos, and they actually do go up in value sometimes as the photographer/artist's career grows. I'm getting ready to start listing them on my Etsy Store again soon.

I also do Impossible Film Transfers/Reproductions of my digital photography or Polaroid scans but that's a subject for another post. :)

Here are a few of them I'll share with you in this post if you guys like them and this post does well I'll post more. I have been reluctant to post many Polaroids because my Instax/Polaroid posts in the past have not done that well on Steemit. I guess it's an acquired taste because some collectors will pay $50-$100 or more per image.

Instax with Model Marilyn
Instax-Arune001-A-web.jpg

Instax-Arune004-A-Web.jpg

Polaroid Impossible Film with Kristy
54d326e99a6af.jpg

54b63e16dcf63.jpg

Please Upvote and Share if you like my work.

Thanks,

Nico

You can also buy my work on Tshirts at:
http://NSPTShirts.com
http://www.redbubble.com/people/nsparts

Some of my other Recent and Still Active Posts that feature my Digital Photography...

NSPART - Erotic Art Set in "The Back Room" with Chiva (3 Images - NSFW- Erotic Art Nudity)
https://steemit.com/photography/@nspart/nspart-erotic-art-set-in-the-back-room-with-chiva-3-images-nsfw-erotic-art-nudity

NSPART - Erotic Art Piece "Legs for Days" in Color and Black & White With Marilyn (NSFW- Explicit Artistic Nudity)
https://steemit.com/photography/@nspart/nspart-erotic-art-piece-legs-for-days-in-color-and-black-and-white-with-marilyn-nsfw-explicit-nudity

A few more suggestions for the Improvement of Steemit...
https://steemit.com/steemit/@nspart/a-few-more-suggestions-for-the-improvement-of-steemit

NSPART - Why yes... As a matter of fact I do photograph men as well and here are a few...
https://steemit.com/photography/@nspart/nspart-why-yes-as-a-mater-of-fact-i-do-photograph-men-as-well-and-here-are-a-few

NSPART - Time Travel Tuesday - A few from my first shoot I did with models on my own - Part 1
https://steemit.com/photography/@nspart/nspart-time-travel-tuesday-a-couple-from-my-first-shoot-i-did-with-models-on-my-own-part-1

Sort:  

Upvoted. A word of advice: a RAID mirror is not a substitute for backups. Filesystem corruption, accidental deletions - a RAID set will happily mirror those, too.

Make a second copy on a second drive. They're cheap these days. :)

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.143 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

Sorry to hear about your drive failure! May i ask what brand the drive is? Great polaroid shots!

Seagate. But I was using it in a dock and I think that's what messed it up. I thought it was truly hot swappable. But not really. So you have to be really careful when using a HD Bay/Dock.

You might try seagate tools to try to recover it..... maybe?

I did. If I had it to do over again. As soon as I saw an issue I would have just duplicated the drive. Now I have a plan for data storage and redundancy at multiple stages so I always have multiple copies... But it's not fully implemented yet as it's not cheap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49