#01 Dark Fiction and Dark Imagery-An Oddhaunts and Nikflossus Collaboration.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hardly Here At All

This room is warm. It is light. It is clean. I don't belong here.
'Please take a seat,' says the man. There is always a man. I do as he tells me.
'There's water here, tissues there.'
I look. A plastic jug, a polystyrene cup, paper tissues. Insubstantial things. Hardly there at all.
'Do you know why you're here?' he asks.
I nod, then shake my head. Both answers are right. He makes a note of something. They always make notes about me.
'Do you know where you are Sarah?'
They like me to say “hospital”. I say the word. There is no point in struggle.
'Yes, you're in a hospital Sarah. Do you know the reason you're here?'
I know that in some dark places there is no reason. No will. No resistance. No me. Just weak arms and legs. I tell the man what he wants to hear.
'Yes doctor I am feeling better.'
'You've been here a long time now. Would you like to leave here one day?'
'Yes doctor I am feeling better.'
I cannot leave here because not all of me is here. Parts of me are somewhere else. He looks up at my face. He is thinking about what to say to me next.
'I was wondering Sarah, now that you've had some time here to rest, whether perhaps you feel ready to talk a little more, about what happened.'
I'm hardly here at all….. Somewhere I am in a dark cellar. And there are only hands and feet, bound, struggling. That is all that is left. Someone answers for me.
'Yes doctor I am feeling better.'

@Oddhaunts and @Nikflossus will be publishing their collaborations on alternate accounts. Please follow both if you don't wish to miss anything.

Camera
Yashicaflex TLR

Lights
Yongnuo Yn-160
Video Light 5500k

Sort:  

edit 'a calm voice answers for me'

Nice concept and interesting collaboration idea. This should do well, if the capricious Gods of Steem allow...

You messaged me once about collaboration..... still interested?

yep certainly. shall we talk on chat?

edit: 'they always make notes.'

edit 'do you know where you are?'

Edit: 'Yes, Sarah, you're in a hospital. Do you know why you're here?'
I nod, then shake my head. They speak always of 'knowing' things they cannot know. And he waits. They always wait until they get what they want.?????????
'Do you know the reason?' he says slowly, clearly, as if he knows about 'reason'. I know that in some dark places there is no reason. No will. No resistance. No me. Just weak arms and legs. ????? I tell the man what he wants to hear. 'yes doctor I am feeling better.'
'You've been here a long time now Sarah. Would you like to leave here one day?' I nod then shake my head.
'Yes doctor I am feeling better.'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29